pci-e - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2005, 01:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 225
Default pci-e

do i need some sort of special connector for my PSU for my power supply to run pci-e?
I have the thermaltake w0010 silent purepower 480w:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...153-009&depa=0
__________________

ak_smallz is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I honestly dont think so. Not to positive, i would wait for a second opinion.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 02:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

Your motherboard should take the normal connectors and if you get a video card that requires power it will take the standard molex connectors.
chog is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 02:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 225
Default

ok thanks
ak_smallz is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 02:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

no. or at least i didn't. i just plugged my 6600gt into the pci-e slot and it's been working fine. it runs off the mobo's power
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

pci-e versions of the 6600gt dont need extra power but i know the agp version do need a connection direct from the psu. pci-e motherboard do need a 24pin connection rather than the 20pin on agp motherboards so i would look into that if i were u.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 04:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 225
Default

that could be a problem. Do you think they sell those locally (like compusa) because i live in alaska and i dont really want to spend 15 bucks for shipping a 5 dollar part. ZipZoomFly is another option, but i cant seem to find the adaptor there.
Can anyone post a link to one if you can find it (preferably compusa or zipzoomfly, or anyone where shipping isnt horrible)?

EDIT: It says onthe specifications that it is "Designed for AMD K7 and Intel ATX +12V 1.1 and ATX 2.03 version (Fully Support Pentium 4),"
and i guess you need atleast an ATX 2.0 to run a pci-e board? Im really hoping i can find a way to make it work (as in find that it will work or find a suitable adaptor), or else i may have to go toward AGP.
ak_smallz is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 05:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

Most, if not all PCI-e boards come with an adapter from 2 molex connectors to a PCI-e connector. You should be fine!
__________________

__________________
http://blog.gandmcomputers.com
http://hwa.gandmcomputers.com <- Check out the new benchmark competition on the block!
gregm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.