Is PCI Bridge Necessary? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2005, 11:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Question Is PCI Bridge Necessary?

Machine type: Gateway LP Minitower 750 Select.
Windows 98 -192MB
AMD Processor


I've reimaged this unit "for a friend", I was unable to get the LAN driver information before reimaging.



Initial Problem: PCI controller & PCI Bridge (Device Mgr - reading for both "!" .)


I've taken out the NIC card: Linksys Etherfast 10/100 Lan Card model LNE 100TX version 5.1.

I found the correct driver and I managed to get the PCI controller working properly. (Device is functioning properly)

But, I'm still unable find a suitable PCI Bridge driver.

(I have not taken this unit back to my friend's house because I have no way of downloading drivers from his home)

Is the PCI Bridge necessary to reconnect this unit back to his DSL?
Keeping in mind, he has a Cisco Wireless router BEFW11F4 which is used to connect his son's computer to the internet as well. Will there be a problem caused by not having the PCI bridge functional?

Please assist.

Thanks,
WizAtWork
__________________

WizAtWork is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The bridge should be controlled by the default windows drivers, or the motherboard drivers. If you found the motherboard drivers your set.

And for #2, the router is linksys, a division of cisco, and not a cisco router.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I've gone to Gateway.com and downloaded all of the motherboard files associated with this unit and I've utilized the new hardware search feature to scan the Windows 98 cd. It doesn't find anything. I'm going to take out the linksys card and try rebooting without it.... I will also get a good look at the motherboard to see what model it is and attempt to find the driver....Any other ideas?
WizAtWork is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.