pci, agp questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2005, 03:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Default pci, agp questions

hey, im kind of new in computer hardware stuff, so what i wanna ask is how do i recognize if i have a PCI slot, and if i can change the AGP number (mine is 2x/4x)?
Ville
__________________

ville_valo is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 04:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

pci slots are usually white. you should have 3 to 5 of them. the 2x/4x is the speed of your agp slot and you cannot change that. the agp slot is usually brown or black and closer to the cpu. the pci slots are below thoes.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 102
Default

thanks hefemeister, i checked and i have 6 PCI slots. thank you very much
Ville
ville_valo is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

6 PCI slots! I only have 2....

/cry
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 12:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by woot6600GT
6 PCI slots! I only have 2....

/cry
HOW DO YOU SLEEP AT NIGHT?!
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 12:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by woot6600GT
6 PCI slots! I only have 2....

/cry
Quote:
Originally posted by Crysalis
HOW DO YOU SLEEP AT NIGHT?!
Really?!? how can you only have 2 PCI slots? i have 5!
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 12:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

He probably has an Micro ATX board. Or a cheaper one with just less on it.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 02:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

does it really matter most people will never use more than 2 or 3 pci cards anyway. you should be able to change your AGP slot between 2x/4x in bios, if not it will do it automatically depending on the card.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.