Pc4000? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2004, 03:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 57
Default Pc4000?

Alrite, for my new comp im gettin an Athlon 64 3200+ with a ASUS K8V Deluxe MOBO. With this setup, I'm planning on getting

1gig of Corsair Twinx PC 4000 Dual Channel Ram, would this work and is it a good choice?

Thx
__________________

Cyph3R is offline  
Old 05-01-2004, 05:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Asus K8V deluxe only supports PC3200 400MHZ, so save your money on only getting that. also, it's a good idea to get matching pairs of DDRRAM so I'd reccomend 2x512 Corsair Micro TwinX unless you're planning to buy another matching 1GB stick down the track
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-01-2004, 09:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 57
Default

what AMD 64 Motherbaords or any mobo's in fact support pc4000?
Cyph3R is offline  
Old 05-01-2004, 11:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

all mobos say they can support 3200 only but some still work with higher speed rams
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 09:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 57
Default

so are there any boards that support pc4000 amd 64?
Cyph3R is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

i think in a review someone said they used pc4000 but they couldnt get it to work so they used 3700
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 05-02-2004, 11:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 57
Default

so if i get pc4000 for an Asus K8V deluxe the ram wont work at all?
Cyph3R is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 57
Default

are there any freakin motherboards that can use pc4000 with an AMD 64!??!?!
__________________

Cyph3R is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.