PC3200 with PC2100 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2005, 09:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default PC3200 with PC2100

I have just bought some corsair value select 512MB 3200 2.5CAS and i currenty have 256 2100. I know if i install the 512 3200, it will be limited to 2100. SO, i was wondering if i can overclock my 2100 memory, so it will run faster??

Or should i just not bother and stick with 512 3200??

THanks
__________________

jamie85 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 10:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

it should be better to run the 512mb of the 3200 depending or what cpu u have. because if ur running a xp2000 or sumthing i think they only have a fsb off 266 then havin ur 3200 at 400 wont make much difference.
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 10:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Hmm im running an XP 2400+.

Will the memory run at 3200?
jamie85 is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

the memory will run at PC3200. but u might not be able to take advantage of it. i would not the the pc 2100 at all if i were u because i think that chip runs at 333. so u wouldnt be gettin the most out of ur chip if u used that. might b a idea to lower ur multiplier and increase ur FSB to 200 so u do get the most out of ur ram.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.