PC3200 on Gigabyte GA-7VAxp board - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2004, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
tbc
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 45
Default PC3200 on Gigabyte GA-7VAxp board

Hi,
Is anyone using GA-7vaxp from gigabyte? do you know if it is compatible with pc3200 rams? I read the manual, it shows it only supports few brands?
Another quesiton is that is there anything out there that will test the RAM with errors except memtest86, because I have run the test, and it shows lots errors on both of the ram chip I just bought!

Thanks,
__________________

tbc is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

What brand did you buy? If you look at my sig. you will see that my mobo is similar to yours, and I've had zero problems with my ram.
__________________

__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-29-2004, 10:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
tbc
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Hi,
The brand of the ram is Elixir 512mb pc3200
__________________
AMD 2500+ M (@Stock)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Kingston 512mb DDR400 * 2
ATI 9600XT AIW
Vantec Aeroflow
tbc is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 02:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the specs for this board are here: http://www.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard...s_GA-7VAXP.htm
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 03:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Yep...sometimes it's tricky buying the right ram. Some boards (chipsets) just don't work well with some types of ram.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-30-2004, 07:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
tbc
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks, I decide to pay a bit more and exchange it to kingston
however, can someone tell me what is this component number mean?
"W942508BH-5 2312D" Does it mean I must buy the Kingston RAM with this component number?
Thanks,
__________________

__________________
AMD 2500+ M (@Stock)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Kingston 512mb DDR400 * 2
ATI 9600XT AIW
Vantec Aeroflow
tbc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.