PC133 memory repair? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2004, 10:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default PC133 memory repair?

is it possible to repair a pc133 128mb memory because it can't be detected anymore?
__________________

dungol is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, yes and no. Sure, anythings possible......but do you really want to get down with another memory module and a soldering iron???? Not really...
The first thing that I would do is obtain a RAM diagnostic tool from SimmTester and find out if it's bad. Or, perhaps you have the memory located in a different slot than needed? If all else fails, PC133 is VERY cheap. And you'd be able to replace this piece of hardware for under $30.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default

i just wanna try if it still repairable. i just wanna clear out that question in my mind. soldering and desoldering is not a problem for me. what's the common problem on memory if can't be detected?

thanks for the link.
dungol is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 11:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Yuck.... sounds like extra work to me.

dungol, what is the manufacture of the memory?
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 11:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default

i don't know of the manufacturer. is it a eeprom ic on the side of the memory?
dungol is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

I, personally, would just buy new Ram because of the fact that SD is so cheap :/
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default

i know it's cheap but i just wanna know if it's repairable. buying a new one is not a problem. knowing the cause of the problem is important for me.
dungol is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 01:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

I recomment running that software Mike recommended, Simmtester, it will locate any problems if any.

What you are trying to do is possible but it costs allot of money to buy the necessary equipment. You can buy a special tester where you plub in the memory card but again, its very expensive and not worth it unless you are a ram vendor.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 02:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Exclamation

Uh, If it truely is the memory module, no you can not repair it. The eeprom is the SPD chip and it tells the BIOS what the settings need to be. This is the only thing on the module that would cause it to not be seen by the system. You will not be able to find another one and it would take way too much time. Now there could be a problem with your slot. Swap the modules around or try a different module in that slot to see if the slot is recognizing the memory. If the slot does not see either module then you have a slot issue. Once the module has been found to be bad, find the nearest round file and file it away. No physical repair possible.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 03:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Nice info Crucial, welcome aboard and thanks for the insight.
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.