Which PC would you pick? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2006, 01:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Question Which PC would you pick?

Hi everybody...

I currently have both of these computers. I cannot afford to buy anything new. My decision is between these two computers.

Which would you pick out of these 2 to record/mix audio with/use as DAW?

Computer 1 = 3.2g P4 w/HT, 2g Ram pc3200, 800 FSB, 512kb l2 cache, 120g HD SATA RAID Serial ATA. 478 chipset

OR

Computer 2 = 2.4g AMD Athlon 64 3400+, 2g Ram pc3200, 800 FSB AMD hammer,512kb l2 cache, 200g HD Ultra ATA running Windows 64-bit and sonar. 754(newcastle), chipset VIA V-link and the northbirdge is K8M800
__________________

eesotereh is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 06:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I would pick number 2 mainly for the bigger hard drive although windows xp 64 bit version might cause you problems if you can find drivers, or if software will run on it.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
I would pick number 2 mainly for the bigger hard drive although windows xp 64 bit version might cause you problems if you can find drivers, or if software will run on it.
is that the only reason? lol

well, at any rate, as far as drivers go, i already have the bases covered. i checked everything that i would use with this computer and they all have 64-bit drivers, so thats not a prob
eesotereh is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 06:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

It's a toss up. If you need the more HDD space, I would take #2, but the RAID 0 HDDs for #1 will help a lot, i think ;p
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I dont trust raid Iv had too many in work die and it just turns into a pain. The first one may be dual core but it is mostly out performed by the AMD 64 3500+ in many applications and games.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 09:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

I'd probably choose number 2 for the larger hard drive since youre doing some audio work and youre gonna need the space. They're basically about the same though. :/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 11:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Default

Hmmm..But, if the amd computer was running under 64-bit native mode then wouldnt it make a bigger difference versus the p4 in 32 bit windows?
eesotereh is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 11:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Default Which PC would you pick? Repost

I apologize for double posting, I had to post this question with better details

I have two computers and I want to designate one as my internet, word processing computer and one as my DAW/audio mixing, recording computer. Here are both of them with more detail:

Computer # 1 =
Multi-CPU Pentium 4, 2 CPU's @ 3.2g each w/HT (16 x 200), 478 pin. No 64-bit O/S capability
mobo: FB62
mobo chipset: Springdale-G i865G
RAM: 2.04g PC3200 (200mhz) DDR SDRAM. Module Width: 64-bit
HD: UltraATA 118g
L1 Trace: 12k instructions
L1 Data: 8 Kb
L2: 512 Kb (on-die, ecc, ATC, full-speed)
Chipset Properties
Buswidth: 8-bit, effective clock: 267 mhz, min/max multiplier: 16x/16x
Memory Bus Properties
Bus-width: 64-bit, effective clock: 400 mhz, bandwidth: 3200 mb/s
FSB:
bus-width: 64-bit, effective clock: 800 mhz, bandwidth: 3200 mb/s
Memory controller
Type: dual channel (128-bit)
Active mode: single channel (64-bit)

Computer # 2 =
AMD Athlon 64 @ 2.4g (12 x 200) 3400+, Newcastle S754 pin. 64-bit O/S Capable. (I use SONAR, so 64-bit benefical to me)
mobo: unknown
mobo chipset: VIA K8M800/K8N800, AMD Hammer
RAM: 2.04g PC3200 DDR SDRAM (200 mhz), module width: 64-bit
HD: ATA 200g. HD #2: ultra ATA 120g (with only audio files.
L1 Code: 64 kb (parity)
L1 Data: 64 kb (ECC)
L2: 512 kb (on-die, ECC, Full-speed)
Chipset Properties
bus-width: 8-bit, effective clock: 267 mhz. min/max multiplier: 4x/12x
Memory Bus Properties
bus-width: 64-bit, effective clock: 320 mhz, bandwidth: 2560 MB/s
FSB
effective clock: 200 Mhz, HyperTransport Clock: 800 Mhz
eesotereh is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 04:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Have you tried benchmarking both PC's to get a feel for which will be able to better perform the mixing / recording that you are doing?

The loser would obviously be used for other purposes.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 05:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I would take advantage of the 64 computing offered by the AMD solution.
__________________

dustin56 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.