PC wont start. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2005, 02:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default PC wont start.

I just built a pc and when I press the power button my monitor makes no sound (as it does when it comes on). I dont think the problem is that pc wont boot its just the monitor doesnt seem to want to come on no matter what I do. I have tried my spare 17" monitor ( I dont really know why but I thought it was worth a try) and I also tried another dvi to vga converter. I dont have a LCD monitor that I can try.

The new graphics card is a MSI 6800GT and it doesnt have a blue vga connection at the back, just two DVI connectors so im using the supplied converter. The full specs...

Asus A8N-E
3800+ Athlon 64
MSI NX6800GT-T2D256E
Corsair 1GB DDR XMS3200XL Platinum TwinX (2x512MB)
And the monitor is a 19" CRT Philips Brilliance.

Thanks to any helpers.
__________________

deviant9 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Did you try the other DVI port.

Its possible that only one of the ports is 'on' by default.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 02:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yes I tried both ports and even changed the adaptor to one I got with an older ati card.
deviant9 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 02:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Some other things to try:

-Reseating the vid card and making sure it is in its slot properly
-Making sure that the 4-pin power connector is connected to the vid card.


And another quesion:
Do your fans and hard drives start spinning?
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 02:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

put 1 moniter in the 1 port and 1 in the other and see which 1 boots up i had te same porblem
__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Well ive already tried both ports though. Ive tried each port with each monitor. And ive even used a different adapter too.
deviant9 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Does the computer start up when you press the 'on' button?
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yes I have a green light and all the fans are spinning - cpu, psu, horthbridge, and graphics card.
deviant9 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Oooo...this could be bad. First of all, make sure a moltex connector is plugged into the card - some cards, especially the 6800, require extra power directly from the PSU.

If then it doesn't start up, try an old card, and if that works, It probably is the card.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I have no other pci express cards thats the thing( I want to cry this is awful If you dont plug the power cable in to these cards then you will get very fast beeps upon booting, at least my 9800pro was like that.
__________________

deviant9 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.