PC Won't Boot Up With USB Hub Plugged In - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2005, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default PC Won't Boot Up With USB Hub Plugged In

I've just purchased a 4 Port USB hub cause I got fed up having to keep swap peripherals between the 2 USB ports I have on my PC. I plugged the USB hub into one of the USB ports on the front of my PC but when I switched the PC on it wouldn't boot up. So I unplugged the USB hub, switched the PC on and it booted up fine. Does anyone know why this is - why the PC won't boot with the USB hub plugged in?

Just to give you some background info, I'm running Windows XP Pro on a HP Pavilion 9720 PC. The ports at the front of the PC are I believe version 1.1, whereas the USB hub is version 2.0. I'm gonna guess that there's some sort of issue here with the USB port versions!!?? If this is the case, is there anything I can do to resolve the problem?
__________________

madhouse is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Check the manufacturer of the USB hub's website to see if there are Win XP drivers. Also, HP might have the drivers on their website. Or even Microsoft might have USB 2.0 drivers.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Does your computer boot properly if your plug the USB hub to a USB port on the back of your PC?

Also...where does the USB port draw its power from? Does it require an additional power source from a power adaptor? It may be drawing too much power from the system if it's passively consuming power from the motherboard.

If your computer halts before the Operating System loads, then it's certainly a hardware issue, not driver related.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default

smileygladhands - the USB hub is just a generic hub and didn't come with any software/drivers. I checked the HP support website but for my PC (Pavilion 9720) but there were no updates for USB drivers available. Searched and searched on the MS website and found many articles/updates/solutions for where a USB device isn't working, but none seem to apply to my situation.

Alvin - the PC does not boot properly if the USB hub is plugged into the USB port on the back of my PC. The USB hub has it's own separate power supply directly from the mains.
madhouse is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

just wondering, did your system boot the USB (removable device) first instead of your hard disk (assume that is what you want it to boot)

and btw, USB 2.0 is backward compatible with 1.0 and 1.1
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 05:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

There is a way to work around that problem. Hibernate your computer instead of turning it on. I have an external Network adaptor on my computer and it keeps restarting for some reason when I turn my computer on. But, when I left it at hibernate, then unhibernated, the computer did not restart. I don't know if my problem was similar to yours, but try it. It can't hurt.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 05:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default

hkfnstang - I did wonder myself if the PC was trying to boot from the USB hub for some reason!!??

Hacp - I can try your idea of hibernating the PC instead of switching it off...though the wife is a stickler for me leaving the PC on all the time!!
madhouse is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 05:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default

I just did some digging around in the Device Manager and found the following listed under Universal Serial Bus Controllers:

Generic USB Hub
Maxtor One Touch
USB Root Hub
USB Root Hub
VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller
VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller

Ok, now the funny thing....when I double-click on the first USB Root Hub entry and select the Power tab is says the following two devices are attached:

Hewlett Packard Scanner
Maxtor One Touch

When I do the same for the second USB Root Hub entry it says the following devices are attached:

Generic USB Hub (4 ports)
1 port(s) available

Now, as to what I have plugged in to the USB ports is as follows:

Maxtor One Touch - plugged into one of the USB ports on back of PC.
Hewlett Packard Scanner - plugged into the second USB port on back of PC.
USB Hub - plugged into one of the USB ports on the front of the PC.

The other USB port on the front of the PC is currently unused.

Does all this seem normal??
madhouse is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 05:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

sounds alright to me... from what I know, there are 3 chips on the motherboard that responsible for USB 1.0, 1.1, and 2.0, not sure if that is related to what you see though. I look forward for other comments too.
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 05:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

what service pack are you running with XP?

My computer doesn't boot with my scanner connected so i just connect it when I am in if I need it.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.