PC will not boot

Status
Not open for further replies.

gilmesh

Beta member
I'm attempting to replace my motherboard, processor, ram, vid card, and install XP. I installed all of the new components and now my computer does not boot. The power turns on, but there is no beep from bios, and no video output at all. I swapped out the vid card for my old one and got the same results. My first thoughts are that the processor or motherboard are DOA. This is my first Intel processor so I can't swap out that. How can I tell which one is giving me problems, or could there be another issue I'm overlooking?

I've been building and upgrading computers for over ten years, so I'm comfortable with the process. However, I have never ran into this problem before. Any help would be appriciated.
Thank you
Gilmesh

gilmesh said:
I'm attempting to replace my motherboard, processor, ram, vid card, and install XP. I installed all of the new components and now my computer does not boot. The power turns on, but there is no beep from bios, and no video output at all. I swapped out the vid card for my old one and got the same results. My first thoughts are that the processor or motherboard are DOA. This is my first Intel processor so I can't swap out that. How can I tell which one is giving me problems, or could there be another issue I'm overlooking?

I've been building and upgrading computers for over ten years, so I'm comfortable with the process. However, I have never ran into this problem before. Any help would be appriciated.
Thank you
Gilmesh

First of all, just to make sure you arent new at PC's, did you apply the thermal paste when putting the processor in, did you get the motherboard in correctly?

If you have done this before, I am for sure you would already know this, but just to make sure! :)

Yeah, I put the thermal paste on the processor. The motherboard went in without a problem (physical installation). It's a Asrock P4S55FX with a Celeron 2.0, and 512 mb PC3200.

gilmesh said: