Pc Vs Ps3 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2008, 07:09 AM   #21 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: Pc Vs Ps3

^You can emulate Windows thru Linux, so it is possible, to a certain degree
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 10:30 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Pc Vs Ps3

WINE only runs on x86 based processors. to run WINE you would have to run QEMU with an x86 environment and another linux inside that . you could run Windows within QEMU but that would be a bit of a hassle and perform poorly.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 11:56 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default Re: Pc Vs Ps3

Also at issue is the single use consoles have, so not as much memory is needed because the OS is steamlined for specific purposes.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 09:09 PM   #24 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Pc Vs Ps3

Quote:
Originally Posted by killians45 View Post
Also at issue is the single use consoles have, so not as much memory is needed because the OS is steamlined for specific purposes.
even so, but i find it rediculous that PS3 doesnt have 512mb of VRAM, would of helped a lot of developers to make their games really HD, same with Xbox 360 if it doesnt have 512mb VRAM.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 09:46 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Pc Vs Ps3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
even so, but i find it rediculous that PS3 doesnt have 512mb of VRAM, would of helped a lot of developers to make their games really HD, same with Xbox 360 if it doesnt have 512mb VRAM.
Because its not DDR ram, its XDR ram which is more expensive, and supposedly better.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 11:35 PM   #26 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Pc Vs Ps3

i think transfer rates of xdr was far superior than what we use
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 12:22 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Pc Vs Ps3

You can still only load so much data into 512mbs of ram.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 05:45 PM   #28 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Pc Vs Ps3

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
i think transfer rates of xdr was far superior than what we use
keyword: was
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 05:59 PM   #29 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Pc Vs Ps3

imma download folding at home for ps3 when i get home
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 09:33 AM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
aeroplane22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to aeroplane22
Default Re: Pc Vs Ps3

You only need to play 1 game on PS3 to realize it is inferior to a PC. The graphics alone do not even slightly contend with PC. Every game you play has no AA so it feels like you're playing a low resolution, even on a huge HDTV.

If you were to combine a bunch of PS3s together, isn't that just, building a computer? You're stuck with a PS3 being what it is, until a "PS4". This is why I have a PS3 and a PC. I enjoy several games that come out on PS3 simply because they are not on PC or are more popular on console, GTA4.. prime example.
__________________

aeroplane22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help connecting PS3 to PC please :) Callme Sony Playstation 9 07-23-2008 03:45 AM
The PS3 Laptop by Ben Heck b1gapl Sony Playstation 8 04-13-2008 10:30 PM
PS3 “Contributing Factor” to GTA4 Delay Osiris Sony Playstation 10 02-03-2008 03:46 AM
Stream Your Mac Content To Your PS3 Osiris Apple and Mac 0 01-09-2008 12:56 PM
Free PS3 With Every Full HD Sony Bravia TV Oreo Off Topic Discussion 14 12-21-2007 05:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.