PC vacuum or blower? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2007, 12:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default PC vacuum or blower?

Anyone know if there are any types of devices you can buy to blow out/clean the dust from the inside of your PC? I go through tons of canned air and was hoping there would be something you could buy that does that via rechargable batteries or something. I would probably want something fairly powerful as well. Any help is appreciated Links are even better, I usually buy from NewEgg.

Shafra is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Phantom118's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: PC vacuum or blower?

I used to use an air-compressor.. Infinite supply of compressed air.. no cans..
worked for me...


Phantom118 is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: PC vacuum or blower?

What about just blowing on the parts? Thats what I do... I am too cheap to buy 'canned air'....

Just how often are you cleaning, and how many computers are you cleaning that you go through 'tons' of canned air?
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 01:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default Re: PC vacuum or blower?

Well, I have 3 PC's in the house I use canned air to clean, and 2 of them I keep the side panel off so they need to be cleaned more often.

I was hoping someone made a nice blower I could use instead of buying the canned air, so if anyone knows of one feel free to let me know
Shafra is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 05:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,050
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: PC vacuum or blower?

****, just blow on them! i dunno why peeps bother with canned air. I've never bothered with it, and my pc's (i have bout 11? 12? sumthin lyke that) still work fine. btw, u should leave the side of the case on, tis not so good for ur pc to leave it off. Causes localised heat problems, dust problems, etc.
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 01:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: PC vacuum or blower?

I think 3m makes blowers/vacuums for PCs...but they are maybe $200? Good for techs...pricey if just for you. But who knows...people who waste money on external audio such as creative sound cards could also waste money on expensive pc cleaners.

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 06:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,942
Default Re: PC vacuum or blower?

I use a vaccum cleaner on my pc

AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz
8GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.