PC to TV - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2006, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Question PC to TV

I am investigating the linking of my PC to TV, i.e. creating a wireless media network in the house.

I am unsure if this is the correct forum, maybe a new forum needs created for this, as it is going to become very popular in the future as we try and create home media networks to play and distribute PC stored media files throughout the home on TVs and HiFis.
Or maybe you can suggest other forums that specialise in this?

I want advice on the best/cheapest method to create a wireless media network in the house, to play pics, video and audio files that are stored on my PC upstairs on my TV downstairs.

I heard it can be done by several methods:
1. with a chipped/modded Xbox, but with file type limitations.
2. specific transmitter/receivers
3. Digital Media Adaptors, the big IT companies are manufacturing these dedicated equipment like "D-Link MediaLounge DSM-320 Wireless Media Player" and "iCube* Play@TV Digital Media Adapter"

Can anyone provide further information?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 06:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

well, if you want something wireless, you could always put together a box specifically for home media with a tv-out on the video card. If you've got any leftover parts, you can use them.

I've actually been researching these things off and on for a while. google HTPC (home theatre PC). There are lots of interface options as well, including Windows XP Media Center Edition.
__________________

Shannon is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default

Thanks Shannon....have been considering/researching for while also!

Although I don't have the parts, and am not a brilliant PC building techie, but would be interested in resolving this. A few questions on your suggestion:
1. Box is to be located at and connected to TV?
2. Does it need a monitor?
3. Where does the media need to be, is it transmitting wirelessly from PC upstairs?
4. Operating system?
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 09:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a lot of video cards have VIVO (Video In Video Out) which means you can connect a TV to them
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 09:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

1. yes, usually. you can get sleek/small formfactor cases if you like
2. doesn't need a monitor(except for during setup, I suppose, for which you could borrow one from another PC) if you have TV-out then you can just use the tv, which is what you want to view your media on anyway
3. can be on the hard drive of the HTPC, or if you've got a wireless(or wired for that matter) network set up, you should be able to stream whatever you like from your other PCs.
4. Windows XP Media Center Edition(can be bought from NewEgg OEM) would probably be easiest, but you could use regular Windows XP and there are addon apps you can use for interface.

You can even get remote controls that you can use with these boxes.
Shannon is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 03:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default

Thanks again Shannon
I don't want to waste alot of time and space on this solution alone in this thread, but it seems feasible, although a little expensive, getting a box (maybe secondhand) and buying a new video card with TV out, Win Media Centre plus remote control. It would be nice for it to be in the smaller case you describe, another expense, and also means that it is to be self built.....dunno if I would trust myself!!
I would be posting questions here for a long time!!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

yeah, that's possible. Might not be pretty, but it is a feasible solution. If you're looking at just getting something cheap I think that emachines have a box out with MCE on it. I don't think it actually had a tv-out card in it, but for like $500, if you would've had to start from scratch, it might be a good deal for you even if you have to put a tv out card in.

Or the next time you upgrade a PC save the parts to put in an HTPC box.
Shannon is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Miss Shannon is spot on.

You'd need a HTPC, with a Videocard that has an S-VIDEO out, connected to your TV. MCE2005 would be your operating system of choice. As it has a very TV friendly interface. It's also built on Windows XP PRO so networking that unit to your PC upstaiirs wirelessly would be easy.

If you are interested in building a simple inexpensive HTPC let me know, I can recommend you some ideas.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default

Yeah, cheers HAVOC2k5
Please send pm or post (may as well let others see) ideas/proposals..........

Also, could incoming TV be inputted into this box, and distributed to more than one other TV and/or PC?
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
Yeah, if you get a PVR card (Personal Video Recorder), you can capture TV (cable via coaxial) to a HDD. Then you could access those captured files through networking on other PC's. You can also (Burn those files to a DVD or CD) or transfer them to a portable Device that supports video files.

Actually to distribute entertainment to other TV's you'll need what's called a Windows Media Extender and XBOX360.

I'll put together a list of components that would work well for a HTPC.
WIN MCE Extender Home Page;
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/m...r/default.mspx
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.