Pc to Tv - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2009, 11:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 183
Default Pc to Tv

just wondering, would this work for what i want to do?
Newegg.ca - SYSONIC 6 ft. Series S-Video & RCA Stereo Audio Cable Model SRC62 GWT - Cables
connect the computer to the tv so i can use it as a monitor? i have the yellow video out in the gpu so i was jw before i went out and bought something that didnt work lol

or can someone suggest waht i do need if thats not it?
__________________

Dumpy is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 12:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: Pc to Tv

It would depend on the hookups of your TV and your graphics card. Many recent TVs have either VGA or DVI ports on them.


DVI on the left, VGA on the right.

Newer sets may also have HDMI hookups, while older sets may have an S-cable hookup. Really old sets might have the old RCA jacks.

Post what hookups you have on both the TV and your GFX card.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 08:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Pc to Tv

you can hook it up but if the TV is a tube tv its not going to look good at all, even if it's "HD" it still wont support the resolution you would need. if it is a LCD or plasma tv you should be fine, also as Trotter said most new tv's have the VGA and DVI hookups on the back as well as HDMI
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 09:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 183
Default Re: Pc to Tv

It is a tube tv, and the tv has S-video, the red/white/yellow and my card has dvi/vga and a yellow female connector and i have s-video and a yellow one on a different card
Dumpy is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 10:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default Re: Pc to Tv

S-video is definitely better but It will look like crap as a monitor at probably a max of 800x600
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 183
Default Re: Pc to Tv

oh. well never mind then if its not gunna look good. i just wanted to like.. use it to watch movies lol il just have to wait and buy a bigger monitor/get a new tv.
Dumpy is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 10:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Pc to Tv

it should work fine for movies and such, but dont expect to be able to read any text ^_^
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 10:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 183
Default Re: Pc to Tv

really? but would i be better off getting a new monitor?
Dumpy is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 10:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Pc to Tv

oh yeah, new monitor for sure, i love my 27" samsung LCD, it's an awesome monitor. Although it will work for movies and such, i used to watch movies on my old 32" RCA tube tv all the time, just haveit duplicate the screen so you can see what you are doing on your computer monitor, and then watch the movie on the tv. But i would definitely upgrade to an LCD or plasma
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.