PC suggestions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2004, 01:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default PC suggestions

I want to build a pc for my mom for Christmas. I have built a few in the past but it's been a while. She is mainly going to use it to surf the web and store and edit pics. What do you guys suggest as far as MB, CPU, RAM? I think I'll go with Intel, unless you think differently. Ob sound and vid. is OK too I guess. Thanks for the help.
__________________

fishaholic18 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 01:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

get an cheap celeron about 1- 1,5 GHz. That's all she needs. Lower is good as well. about 800MHz would be fine for her needs. U can save some money that way.

About 256MB RAM will be fine.

Mobo:, more expansive generally means more features, better stabilty etc.

Grahpics card: any 32 or 64MB card will be good.

Post ur specs once u have decided wich parts u buy.

U need a faster PC for gaming.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I've always been an Intel guy, is there any reason I should go AMD? Just curiuos on your opinions. Which MB would I get for AMD? I want to go 512 ram and a pretty fast processor. I want this thing to last her a few years. Thanks.
fishaholic18 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I don't know of there is any reason to go AMD if u are nor a gamer. If u want an AMD get an Abit mobo with Socket 939. I am not a pro on this, but for great performance in games u need something like an AMD 3800+ CPU. U can also get a P4 3.06 HT but its not as good for gaming as AMD's.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 06:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Say I went with an Intel 2.4 cpu...Which MB and ram should I go with?
fishaholic18 is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 06:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 129
Send a message via AIM to gabe
Default

All of that depends on the mobo, start with the mobo, then processor, ram.. etc etc..
__________________
<b>My advise is my property. Use it at own risk.</b>
gabe is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 12:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

i would say get something like an Athlon XP2800+ or XP3000+ (Barton) they are very good for their price, and will last a while. as for the mobo, get an Abit NF7-S or Asus A7N8X-X they are both stable, and ram, if you aren't overclocking, get a stick of corsair value ram - or if you want the extra performance, get a 2x256Mb kit so you can run them in dual channel.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 12:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

The min amount of RAM you should get is 512, so win xp can run smoothly. Otherwise it depends on how much you want to spend. What is your budget?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 04:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I'd like to stay below $600 if poss.
fishaholic18 is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 06:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would say a Sempron socket A, a Gigabyte socket A motherboard with onboard sound, a Radeon 9200 or Geforce Fx5200, 512MB corsair or Kingston Value RAM, 1x80GB HDD - doesn't matter if it's PATA or SATA, and a 52x CDROM (does she need a burner?)
the Semprons, unlike the P4's or Celerons can process every 32-bit instruction there is, like with 2 people speaking english, one person can speak english better than the other
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.