PC STILL won't detect AGP slot! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2004, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Unhappy PC STILL won't detect AGP slot!

Ok, I already made a thread about this problem I have been having with my AGP slot, which you can read about here: http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=14490

First, to try and get it back, i tried the "SCAN FOR NEW HARDWARE" wizard on my System Devices, but it didnt detect the "AGP TO PCI BRIDGE" so it didnt detect it, in other words.

Second, tried installing new motherboard drivers, but nope, still didnt detect it.

Third, i tried installing the new video card drivers like you guys suggested, but even THAT didnt work.

Now it seems as if I am out of options =/

Although everything seems to be perfectly normal, this really worries me, because this will ALSO apply to the video cards that i decide to put in my PC in the future =/

Any more suggestions!???

Thanks for any help!
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 02:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

No suggestions? =(
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 05:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

When you go to the divice Manager to your Graphics card does it say something like winsafe drivers or something like that.You said that you reinstalled your mobo drivers do you mean your via drivers those are the ones you need to reinstall to get your pci to agp bridge back in order.I dont know if this helps just a shot.
Good LuckPat
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

OK, thanks for the help!

But could you help me out on finding the "via drivers" or whatever they are called? :P

I have never heard of them, so im not for sure where they are

I know for sure that my motherboard is an Nforce one, though......

But once again, thanks for helping me!
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 11:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=267 You will find them here.Read the info to make sure you get the right ones.Later pat
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Ok, thanks man! I appreciate it! =)
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

If nothing else (and don't do this if you have USB keyboard and mouse), you COULD try to either restore the registry or, if there is some HUGE confilicts somewhere you can always go into DM and remove the PCI Bus.... when you do that, and if conflicts may take along time to do *will seem to freeze* but should eventually prompt a restart. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR WINDOWS AND DRIVERS HANDY!!! What this will do is force windows to recognize and resinatll, well, pretty much everything. So maybe it will sort itself out? Hopefully your well versed in knowing where core system files, inf and other device files are.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Hmmm.........I MAY try that as a last resort, but not until I notice some MAJOR problems, because I would probably end up with a messed up computer with some of the stupid mistakes that I make.

Thanks for the extra help though!

I appreciate this greatly guys!
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Oh yeah, I would use that as a last before anything. It's kind'a like re detecting ALL hardware. From PCI to PCI bridge, clock, AGP, and other hardware. So you'll need to know where its all located (most in c:\windows; c:\windows\system... some in ini and some in sys32 (I think)). Or just restore registry. Done in different ways depending on o/s (either sys restor, scanreg /restore, etc). Also, if you have onboard vid AND AGP slot like many newer boards, make sure they onboard vid is disabled in the bios. This will cause problems if not. Supposedly on some boards it will know and disable itself, allthough the sources that say that I think are wrong and I would not trust them so check in bios and disable if it isn't (maybe need to enable the AGP too??? I dont know...). Let me know what works, thanks!
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 09:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Ok, I will try all of those suggestions.

Thanks again man!!!!! =)
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.