pc still randomly resetting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2004, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46
Exclamation pc still randomly resetting

a while ago i posted about my pc randomly resetting itself and still cannot resolve the problem.

symptoms: pc will reset itself at random just as if i pressed the reset button (screen goes blank then machine proceeds to boot up)

my configuration:
512mb ddr400
msi kt6 delta
gigabyte radeon 9600xt 256mb
wd 200gb hd
sg baracuda 50gb hd
thermaltake silent purepower 480w psu
sony dual-layer dvdrw
acer 8x4x32 cdrw
aerocool gatewatch
windows xp pro sp2
12" cold cathode
standard amd heatsink

case is an antec p160 featuring 120mm fans at both the front and rear of the machine. the psu has 2 fans which are always at maximum rpm.

i've tried a fresh install of windows xp pro with sp2 slipstreamed into the install. problem remains.
i've tested the ram with memtest32 and no errors.
i've re-arranged the power cables inside the system to minimise use of splitters etc.
case temperature usaully sits around 29 degrees celcius and the cpu in the high 30's.
i've tried increasing the voltages slightly in case something was temporariily loosing power.

the problem remains. there is no regard as to what i'm doing on the comp, gaming, desktop work, burning a cd, surfing the web. the comp resets itself whenever.

can somebody please help?

icewizard2k4 is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 06:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO

Probably a virus or worm. Go to www.avast.com and download the free antivirus scanner. Tell us the outcome.

-Dan The Man

<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 06:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher

If happens quick enough like every 10 minutes..I would eliminate one thing one by one..untill you have the bare minimum devices connected to your PC to make it work. First start with external peripherals then work your way inside the case...cd-rom drives...floppy...extra hard drives...etc etc...
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 09:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46

installing avast caused alot of problems so i removed it. it wouldnt even open the scanning window. i do have McAfee Virus Scan 7.1 installed and that isn't detecting anything.

win2kpatcher i'll try your suggestion. its going to be a pain though becuase the machine can go for 2 minutes or an hour before resetting.
icewizard2k4 is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57

to give you a clear view of how random this really could be:

i recently replaced my mobo and processor but then found my computer randomly froze and i had to reboot. i checked everything, literally everything, finally believing it was fixed when i took it home and changed the PSU.

it wasn't connected by the motherboard ethernet port anymore... as soon as i reconnected it (about 3-4 days later) it would again freeze every time i was doing something. put in a pci network card, it's fine.

you must test everything. very slowly. EVERY. THING. not just your main components unfortunately. though it probably won't be an existing conflict unless something is just failing.

reboots are usually because of faulty connections between something. are you monitoring the temp at all times and you're sure it's now powering down becaues of that?

do these reboots happen only when doing something or even when idle/doing light work?
lokivn is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46

i dont know what is causing it to reset. i have no idea.

i do however feel quite confident that its not a heat issue and all the plugs are connected firmly.

also everything in the machine is brand new apart from one of the hard drives and the cdrw.
icewizard2k4 is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251

That sucks man... Maybe your socket is messed up. Plug it into another wall socket or power strip... see if that changes anything. I dunno just a desperate suggestion...
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46

i've had the machine running for 24hrs now just on the desktop with some downloads going. no reset.

just started installing splinter cell and listening to some mp3s and it reset.

games seem to be crashing quite alot. need for speed underground 2 and half life 2 and always unstable. splinter celll pandora tomorrow crashed during fmv.

i've unplugged my controller, the seagate hd, the neon, floppy, the gatewatch and my cdrw. the problem was occuring before i installed the dvdrw so i've left it connected.

only things connected are my two case fans, wd 200gb hd (which i've also only installed the other day) and my video card.

waiting now to see what happens....
icewizard2k4 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 07:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

Test your memory with Memtest , rule that out as a possible cause.Check for BIOS updates/Chipset Updates/Can you see your MB temperatures or Voltages in BIOS ?
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 07:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

if you have more than one RAM disk, test the PC using each one seperately
also try different slots, it could be a bad slot

another thing is that if you have a reset button on the case, it might somehow be closing the circuit occasionally and resetting the computer
try taking the reset connector out of the motherboard

also check your BIOS to see if it has any option that shuts down the computer if it gest past a certain temperature; disable it if it does

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.