PC running too hot? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2005, 03:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Alright, thanks. I figure getting a new heatsink and putting on some quality paste WILL correct the problem. And yes, I am getting 54-56C when I first turn it on and when it is IDLE. I have not measured it during stress but I am going to avoid any gaming until the problem is resolved. Are there any fit/compatiability issues with certain heatsinks? Like if I get that one or choose another one, are they likely to fit my AMD 3400+ without a prob?
__________________

kaazmar is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

You have to find a heatsink compatible with your socket. I suggest getting the one i showed you though. Its among the best heatsinks.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

kaazmar - you know, a couple case fans and Arctic silver 5. might solve your problem.

were are your case fans? and how many do u currently have?
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 06:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

I got a 3200, and in a room being 69F my processor is 31C. when the room gets to about 90F my processor idles at around 40C. i'm using AS 3 and my front and side case fans are blowing in, while my only back fan is blowing out.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 11:19 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Is it possible that something else could cause it? I mean, can I be sure my sensors are working properly? I'm just curious, let's say I try new paste, or get new heatsink and new paste, but it's still kinda high. What are the other possibilites? Faulty sensors? What else? Thanks.
kaazmar is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 12:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

open your case up when the comp is running and it says its 55C touch the heatsink if you burn yourself your sensors wor if not then your ok and you have faulty sensors
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 02:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Mmm, I had the same problem with my 3400. I even got a zalman 120mm heatsink with artic silver 5 and idled at 50c.... it's just a hot *** cpu...
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD¬ĪR/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.