Pc Restarts itself - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2005, 04:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default Pc Restarts itself

Ok heres my problem.. My pc restarts itself, I built this pc myself and ever since about the 5th day it started to restart on its own. No blue screen just completely turns off and comes back on. I've turned off the restart automatically option and it still does it. I've checked the event viewer and it says nothing about an error from the time it happened. Also i have went into the bios and turned everything on FAIL SAFE settings and it still happens. This usually only happens when im playing games. heres the pc specs..

Processor: Amd 64 FX55
Ram: 1gb corsair 512 x2
Video: PNY Geforce 6800gt
Sound: Soundblaster audigy2 platinum
HD: Seagate 160gb sata "had it as a raid but still restarted"
PSU: Thermaltake 400w
I got a fan on my video card, hd, 2 in psu, and another in the back of the case so i dont think its a cooling problem but i could be wrong.

I've ran memtest.. Passed fine, I've run dxdiag and that came up fine.. Spyware/virus is not an issue as my pc is clean..

Im left in the dust with no ideas.. I replaced My mobo, psu, and ram thinking those were the problem but it still happened... Also i have tried running my desktop on other outlets in the house as well as someone elses outlets. So if anyone has an idea it would be great because i have not found one person yet that has understood why this is happening..

mike46669 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7

Hi Mike,

in my experience, mysterious shutdowns are usually the result of 1 of 4 things:

Faulty power supply
video card

I'm leaning towards the power supply here. I don't trust software tests. The best technique (if you can) is to replace each one, and separately test the machine changing only one thing at a time. I'm lucky I can keep a lot of used parts around.

Maybe you could borrow a friends PC to use parts for testing.

Hope this helps.


DansPC is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2

Replaced power supply.. still happened, tried different LESS POWERFUL video card.. still happened... replaced the ram.. still happened.. Only thing i havent replaced is the processor and thats onyl cuz it costs 800 dollars and i already put 3700 into this pc as is..
mike46669 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 06:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Qiranworms's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635

Deleted your other post as requested, moved this one. The Tips/Tricks/FAQ forum isn't for asking-for-assistance type posts. Thanks.
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 06:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261

This same thing happens to my freinds computer too, when playing BF Vietnam.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

What are your voltages on your power supply, measure from a program, BIOS or a multimeter
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 07:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7

If you've done all that, it must be the processor or board. There must be a warranty on them. Call tech support at the company. If they can determine it is defactive, you should be able to exchange it.
DansPC is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 03:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199

have u try assembly the whole thing in the open and try it?? one of the rare case is ur chasis is shorting ur system.

rare but do exists
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11

didnt know bout that.... wow... u learn lots here thanks
Static_11 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
uzi9mm's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553

Make sure it is not a heat issue with your CPU.

INTEL i7 930
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.