PC Reboots - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2004, 08:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

assuming this is XP, right click my computer, goto properties, advanced, startup/recovery, remove the check from restart after system failure. Then goto start, programs, administrator, event viewer.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
Default Thanks...

hey , Killians , thanks for this mcuh concern .

I've unticked the 'Automatically Restart---after System failure'

Now , how to use Event Viewer ?
__________________

f_xyz is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 05:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by f_xyz
Now , how to use Event Viewer ?
Start | Control Panel > Performance and Maintenance, > Administrative Tools, and then double-click Computer Management.

Alternatively you can open the MMC containing the Event Viewer snap-in.

In the console tree, click Event Viewer.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 09:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 6
Default

I mean how to use Event Viewer ? How to check wats in ?

in simple...
Wat to do after I open Event viewer ???????????????
f_xyz is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 06:50 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Click the tabs on the right, and see what each error says, Should give you info, but ive tried using it before and its pretty inposiible! Just go down to the bottom, or maybe the top, to the most recent error, and see what is says.
__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 09:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

nah, it can be useful. use technet if avail, if not search for the event id and the error and it will give a likely cause. check the application, and also system and security. look for something around the same times the error occurs, dbl click it and copy the error. check other errors, too... even though they may say the same the error/event ID may be different.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.