pc problem please help.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2004, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to techstudent
Default pc problem please help..

2 weeks ago i was having a problem with random reboots while playing games, crashes, and while booting sometimes the hard drive was not recognized.

i replaced the power supply and hard drive and all was well
yesterday i added the old hard drive and the problems are back..i removed the hdd and the problem stayed.
here is the error message after the reboot and i was told windows recovered from a serious error:

:\DOCUME~1\Mayhem\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER6082.dir00\Mini 102104-01.dmp
C:\DOCUME~1\Mayhem\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER6082.dir00\sys data.xml

the supposed fix:http://oca.microsoft.com/en/Response.asp?SID=271

and the nvidia sight mainly says that when an error occurs that the other hardware is the main culprit and that the pc will try and blame the graphics card because it was an graphical error..

any ideas?

techstudent is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 112

You have the latest drivers for your card?

What kind of vid card do you have?

Jeff Cline
MYTHLOGIC Corporation
Custom. Gaming. Computers.
<a href=\"http://www.mythlogic.com\">http://www.mythlogic.com</a>
jcline is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

I had that hapen a lot with my GeForce 4 MX graphics card in my old PC. A little switching out drivers helped minimize the problem.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to techstudent

yes i have a geforce fx5200 with the latest drivers on nvidia's site,and directx 9c.

the problem vanished when i changed hdd and psu.
when i added old hdd as a slave though..welcome back problems.
the old drive is out again but the problem remains..
i guess that could just be a coincidence but the timing is odd.
techstudent is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 09:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to techstudent

any ideas?
techstudent is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 04:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

you could have a virus on the old hard drive, try an antivirus scan

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.