PC problem... help please! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 10:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to xaerial
Unhappy PC problem... help please!

I recently purchased a custom built PC. Specs:

(939-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3000+
CPUFAN: AMD ATHLON64 CERTIFIED CPU FAN & HEATSINK + 3 EXTRA CASE FANS
HD: 80GB 7200 RPM ATA 100 HARD
MOTHERBOARD: (Sckt939) MSI K8N NEO4-F nForce4 Chipset SATA Raid PCI-E w/GBLAN,USB2.0,&7.1Audio
MEMORY: 2x512 MB PC3200 400MHz DDR MEMORY (Corsair)
VIDEO CARD: PCI-E BFG-powered nVidia 6600 GT OC

My problem is...

whenever I get to the boot screen (where it shows the Mobo's logo and gives option to go into BIOS, etc.), it completely freezes. Temperatures are fine, the RAM, hard drive, graphics card, and the DVD-RW all function fine (tested on other computers), so I'm completely clueless as to what's going wrong. I can't access BIOS, boot setup, or anything.

Any forms of help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________

xaerial is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 10:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Could mean that there is a BIOS problem.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to xaerial
Default

That's what I thought too, but since I can't even access the BIOS, I don't know what to do.
xaerial is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 11:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

If you have another motherboard, you can always try that.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

try resetting the cmos
remove battery from mobo for 30min
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 12:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to xaerial
Default

ok i'll try those.

any other suggestions? please help me!
xaerial is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default

what lights come up when you plug in the d-bracket that came with your mobo?
Tallin is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 12:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default

what lights come up when you plug in the d-bracket that came with your mobo?

it does sound as if it is a CMOS problem.... you can ask Necrofear @ anime-element.com's boards... he should be able to help you. my board was doing the same thing, and he came over and fixed it.
__________________

Tallin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.