PC Power Supply Stress Test - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2005, 07:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You know what they really need to do? Take the cheapest power supply on newegg and see how long THAT lasts on full load! I suggest this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817163028
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
You know what they really need to do? Take the cheapest power supply on newegg and see how long THAT lasts on full load! I suggest this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817163028
LOL - That's too funny... A 30 pack of beer costs more then that PSU.
I bet after about 6 hours it would be like the 4th of July in their little lab in germany... lol
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 10:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

The system wont even boot. I bet the engineers forgot to put the rails in
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 04:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

There is a cheaper one- a 300 watt rosewill.http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182001
13.99
I used one to replace someone's psu -and it was actually rock solid. It was not a high power computer though.

I would put my money on the pc power and cooling also. I want to get this one:
http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...php?show=T42DX
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 03:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

PCP&P 850w SLI Monster - Passed the test with flying colors.
Although loud at full load it had an input of almost 1060watts and an 80.4% efficiency at full load which is like a new record in PSU's.

If you've got a killer dual core / SLI / OCin' monster PC, this is the PSU that will laugh at anything you can put in the case. It will also set you back about $475.00. But, power will never be a concern:

Check it out:
http://www.tomshardware.com/howto/20...sstest-09.html
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 04:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I'm waiting for the new modstream from OCZ, it's either 620w or 700w, which will last me for a decent while
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 04:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
I'm waiting for the new modstream from OCZ, it's either 620w or 700w, which will last me for a decent while
I'm not to fond of the Modular PSU's. Although they are pretty cool for modders... They do present a problem.

The fact is, modular plugs limit power by adding to electrical resistance. The voltage drop can be as much as would occur in 2 feet of standard wire. Worse yet, modular plugs utilize delicate pins that can easily loosen, corrode, and burn, creating the potential for a major system failure.

In system I just sold, I had a PCP&C Turbo-Cool 510w SLI PSU and I removed all of the wire sleeves that came with it. Then I put on all new UV Blue cable sleeving. It was kinda of a pain and took a few hours, but it looked great. Also, the sleeving that comes with the PCP&C PSU's is really, really stiff. It makes bending and wire management a real pain.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 08:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I have a modular PSU, and although its quality is somewhat questionable, the modular system is ingeious. They took a molex connector and basiclly just sleeved it. The plugs are just pieces of plastic for the molex connector's own pins. Theoreticlly, the loss is minimal
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.