pc to pc file transfer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2005, 03:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 42
Default pc to pc file transfer

my brother and i are planning on transferring large files from my pc to his (we formatted and wiped it clean after a huge problem). i was looking for a fast way to do this and i'm having a hard time with all the options. i want to go the quickest route and i think a firewire or usb connection between the pc's is probably it?

we're both running xp, an hp and a dell pc.

some of my questions:

q: does windows use firewire target disk mode or is that just a mac thing?

q: i found usb pc link cables at a store offering up to 6-8mb/s speed, but not firewire "linking" cables persay, which would be much faster than that. can i just run a firewire from one pc to the other and transfer files without some special adapter between the pcs as well? do i need software to do this with firewire? (not transferring installed programs, just files).. on a dell and an hp, would i just use a 6pin to 6pin firewire?

if anyone can help i would be greatly appreciative!!! (i'm sorta in a time crunch and have been searching for these answers for 2 days)

thanks!!
__________________

blackmamba is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 03:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

buy 2 lan cards (if the pcs dont allready have them) and a lan cable this would be the fastest way with transfer speeds 10 times faster than usb.

or an even faster way is get your bros HD plug it into ur pc and transfer files that way.
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeh, network transfer is definitely the fastest and most failsafe way. failing that u could install the hdd you are copying to in the comp u are copying from and either using that as a slave and just booting then copying across or use command prompt.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 42
Default

thanks sprooty

so since i dont want to share an internet connection, can i just use the ethernet cable from my modem and not have internet access while we're doing this or do i have to buy a cross cable to do it instead? i dont have a router or anything.
__________________
<<<bLaCK mAmBa>>>
blackmamba is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you can't use a regular CAT5 cable....you'd need a cross-over cable if you wanted to just plug from your NIC card to his
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 42
Default

you guys are great, thanks

i found a cat-6 crossover cable at a store near me. this should do it?
__________________
<<<bLaCK mAmBa>>>
blackmamba is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yep
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.