pc monitor / dvd player - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2005, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default pc monitor / dvd player

hello,

I'm wondering what sort of compatibility issues I would run into if I tried to connect my dvd player to a PC monitor (stand alone).

My dvd player has 3 alternative kinds of outputs: audio/video, s-video, component (RGB).

thanks,

e.
__________________

breizh is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

I don't think that's possible. DOn't monitors only have DVI and VGA?
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

the RGB might work, but thats very iffy, depends on what kind of RGB output it puts out, vga is RGB
horndude is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

thanks, that's what I'm trying to clarify.
breizh is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

whats the plug look like, is it standard 15pin vga?And whats your dvd player manual have to say if anything about this?
horndude is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

thanks,

I haven't bought the PC monitor yet, but I believe if wouldn't have an rgb plug, rather a vga plug like you said.

So I wonder if it's just a matter of finding an rgb (three plugs) to VGA pin connector -if such a thing exists- or if things are more complicated than that.

The diagrams of the dvd player's manual assume that the the output and input plugs are identical ie. rgb-rgb, s-video/s-video.
breizh is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 10:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

things are more complicated than that, there's also synch pins, and they have to match up too, without the synch lines the PC monitor wont work with it
horndude is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 10:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

thanks much. Bye.
__________________

breizh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.