PC keeps restarting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2004, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 23
Question PC keeps restarting

I recently inherited a faulty PC from a friend. When booting, it reaches the black XP 'loading' screen and then immediately re-boots. Tried re-formatting the HDD & re-installing windows - same result. Tried swapping out the HDD for a known good one - same result. Any suggestions? New MB perhaps??

Not too sure of the spec because I don't have the documentation. Although I have worked out that its a P3 1GHz.


Shawzer is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504

Seeing as you have tried more than one motherboard, more than one fresh install of windows, and more than one hard drive im going to say that perhaps your processor is running to hot and when it starts to load windows it automatically reboots. I dont see how if you have a good motherboard, hard drive, and a clean install that it would just cut off like that. It might be a bad stick of ram but im not sure that would cause instantaneous reboot. What kind of cooling and thermal paste/pad are you using.

<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477

can you tell us if you finish the reinstall or it will just reboot while install ?
some times its the battery gone bad
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 04-05-2004, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9

might be faulty memory. Happened to me before but not excatly like that. Try change the memory card.
Noliniel is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 12:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
HoLoCroN's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305

Check the power supply.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

Definately check your power supply , see if it will boot into safe mode also .RunMEMTest 2.1 to see if your memory is ok . Check the inside of the case for heavy dust accumulation around the processor and PS
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 07:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

yep, I'd check the power supply. Maybe need more output.
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 03:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

actually he didn't try a new mobo
I agree with trying a bigger power supply though
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 09:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8

Have you tried running OS under "safe mode"? If yes & it showed that OS didn't reboot under SAFE MODE then might as well uninstall every damn DRIVERS you installed.
After that return OS under "normal mode" & see whether it works. Then try installing outdated or updated drivers until you've got the compatible driver. Video drivers were common in terms of compatibility issue before desktop appears.

I had experienced power supply issue in that kind of situation. One is replacing the whole thing & the other one is removing some hardware because my power supply couldn't handle 4x 20gig HDD & a floppy. Before buying a new one; remove optical drives / floppy / aux. fan & test if you've experienced the same problem.

Do you have a spare memory?
CPU / Mainboard temperature cool enough?

herbert talabis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.