PC keeps freezing up... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2004, 02:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Default PC keeps freezing up...

Hey all...

I am using a P4 1.5 Ghz PC with 256 mb RD Ram. I am running Windows XP SP1. I have been facing this weird problem for the past few days. My PC keeps freezing up randomly. It freezes up when I am working on something. It freeezes up when my PC is sitting idle with the monitor turned off (Windows running). Sometimes it freezes up before windows can even load. And the other day it froze when I was in BIOS tryin to change some settings. When it freezes the only remedy is the RESET button. Nothing else works. I think it is a hardware problem. I would really appreciate it if one of you could at least identify which part of my PC I should be checking for malfunction. Thx a lot.


mmjb is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 08:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670

nothing is overclocked?

<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 08:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 41

Sounds like a RAM Module could be seated incorrectly or not all the way in.

Try powering down completely and reseating the RAM.

If that doesn't work try inspecting your PCI components. It could be that one of your boards are faulty. If your video card is PCI, try using another slot.

If your system is overclocked, this is not unusual. Run to the nearest RadioShak and get a CPU Fan that can support your CPU.

You maybe experiencing Overheating issues.
leandroc76 is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 11:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12

i agree, you should try reseating all the cables and cards. also make sure your heatsink is properly fastened to your processor, otherwise it can overheat quite easily
spncr592 is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 04:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Thumbs up

Thx to everyone for the replies. The problem is no more. I took out the Rams and re inserted them. That fixed the problem. No my pc isn't overclocked. Thx to all again.
mmjb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.