pc install problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2004, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 28
Default pc install problem

Got a mates pc which had problems, kept rebooting. Norton said it had some viruses so have reformatted the HD and trying to install xp but pc keeps switching off half way through install when xp is copying files to the disk. Have run Memtest and passed ok, Any other checks I could try ?
__________________

saspinall is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

I had a similar problem. It turned out I had a bad stick of RAM, even though it passed all of the RAM tests. try switching your RAM and see if that doesn't fix the problem.
__________________

__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

SOUNDS LIKE A HARD DRIVE ISSUE.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

When does it stop? During detection of hardware or while copying files?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Might also be a failing power supply. I recently had a problem with my new system rebooting at random times and I did find out it was bad RAM, even though it passed Memtest.
Wensicia is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

try zero fill the drive then reformat
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 03:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 28
Default

thanks everyone.
Got sorted in the end by swapping RAM from my PC ito his and it installed xp in 20mins and was running all night last night.
So he's off to buy a new stick

Thanks

Stu
saspinall is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Try this see if the Dc switch on the back of the power supply is set correctly. I ran into this problem once and that was the solution
__________________

cintiman1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.