pc doesnt even power up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2003, 04:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to mattymcrae
Default pc doesnt even power up

i have been given a pc wich doesnt even switch on.
i have taken the case off and when i press the power button the fan on the cpu rotates about 1 degree and then stops and thats it the computer lies powerless, not even a buzz or anything.

I was advised this could be the psu but i have put a new one in and its exactly the same still. i have disconected the hdd the floppy and the dvd drive but still nothing.
please help as im coming to my witts end.
__________________

mattymcrae is offline  
Old 07-24-2003, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default have you tried

checking the power cable coming out of the psu? is it a good cable? does it have a good connection with all devices?

also, has the computer been unplugged for a long time? if so the battery in the cmos (bios) might be dead, if you can get power to the battery, let it charge for a few days, then try it again

(btw that battery could also be replaced it is the size of a watch battery)

and check the power cable (from the wall to the psu) make sure it has no shorts in it, that wouls make it pretty hard to get power to the psu

if it aint none of those, i dont know what to tell you, except that your mobo or bios chip might be fried, in which case it probably wouldnt let any power through to the fan
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 07-24-2003, 07:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Also, what type of MoBo is it? Do you press a button on the front of the PC for power or do have to flip the switch on the back of the PS?

If you press a button on front for power, make sure that that connection isn't loose/bad or that the button itself isn't faulty.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 09:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default you guys

are so damn smart, i didnt even think of those things, lol
dethangel is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 11:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 8
Default

See if the jumpers from the the power on button are connected to the motherboard in the correct fashion. If They are not connected in the correct order the computer will not turn on.
eddie is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 11:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 80
Default

I have had that problem when I messed up the BIOS setting. take out the battery and leave it unpluged a few min and put it all back together and try again.
dlittlebear is offline  
Old 07-26-2003, 04:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to mattymcrae
Default

the mobo is a kt3 ultra 2, this computer is really bugging me now
mattymcrae is offline  
Old 07-26-2003, 06:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to mattymcrae
Default

I would like to thank everyone for there help.
the pc is now up and running perfectly.
thanks
__________________

mattymcrae is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.