PC died and now will not start - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2004, 03:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default PC died and now will not start

Ok, I'm new to this forum so bare with me. It happened last night as I turned on my comp, it's been 3 weeks since I turned it on because I was away. Anyway, everything is fine... I check email, chat on aim blah blah.. then I plug my usb cable from my mp3 player into the back.

Then all of a sudden... just as I plug the usb in, the comp shuts off!

I tried to turn it back on it won't work.. I tried everything spent the whole night trying to solve the problem but no go. How could this be? Talk about aggravation, at first I thought it was the power supply so I went out a bought a new one, when I put in the new power supply still won't work.. so I'm like OK... this is freaking crazy. Maybe it's the motherboard... I spent another 75$ and bought a cheap asus motherboard and rebuilt everything... Using the new mother board and the new power supply, the cd rom gets power and so does my 2 HD's but the cpu fan does not... nor does my video card. Basically it's not getting power at all... I don't know what to do ... after a new power supply and new motherboard... you'd think everything will be solved but still no go... how could this be? What else could be wrong? I mean I can't be the computer case or the HD's.. or CD drive.

Also the new motherboard has no built in video jack.. so I have to use my video card - will this cause problems?

Does anyone have a clue of what's wrong, I'm pretty new to this stuff so any help would be appreciated! What steps should I take to diagnose this problem.. and fix it? $175 dollars later I have nothing but parts.... any suggestions would be appreciated. TIA.

*One side note, when I plugged in the new power supply and turned it on for the first time I smelled some plastic burning.. it's a 430 watt supply maybe it's too much?
__________________

wongb18c is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 03:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

If you smell something burning when you turn on a PSU, there's definitely something wrong. Return it and get a new one...
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 03:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

can you give us all of the specifications of your rig?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 03:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Yes I know... I plan to return it... I only bought it because I thought it was my old power supply that went bad.

As of right now I still can not narrow down the problem... because I bought a new motherboard and re-built everything... after re-buliding everything I tried it with the OLD and the NEW psu. I still get a blank screen. I checked all the wiring and seems fine... the problem now is I don't know if I ruined my new motherboard already because of the plastic burning.

Next I plan to try out another psu from my dad's comp and see if it helps. But what puzzles me is that after a motherboard replacement with everything else being the way it was... it still does not work...

My specs...[after motherboard replacement]

Asus A7V8X-X mainboard
Athlon 1800 cpu
1 Stick of 512 ddr ram
1 80 GB WD HD
1 80 GB Maxtor HD
Some CD-R drive
Some floppy drive
Nvida 256mb videocard
Old 100watt IBM psu - I replaced it with a 430 watt Antec psu
wongb18c is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 03:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

I thought definitely for sure that it was my power supply that wasn't enough since I have 2 hd's, cd, video card, and floppy. But after I replaced with a new Antec 430W, still didn't work, along with motherboard.
wongb18c is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 05:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

First off, do you get any 'beeps' when powering up your rig?
Your RAM might have gone bad on you. Try a clean start with bare minimum (one HDD, video card, 1 RAM stick, keyboard and mouse) and see if you can enter your BIOS.
If you still can't enter BIOS, try your RAM in a different computer (don't put another stick of RAM in yours yet because if your MOBO or PSU is bad, you might burn it too)
If you can enter BIOS, you may have to reinstall/repair your OS, since you replaced some hardware (i.e. motherboard) If your running XP, try repair option. Make sure your boot priority is set to CD before the HDD.
If everything boots up fine on the first try, reconnect your hardware one piece at a time until you find the broken part.
A slight burnt smell is not unusual when installing a new PSU. It might be due to some dirt burning on one of the filters.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 05:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Thanks for trying to help guys.. I really appreciated. As you can tell I'm pretty much a newb. Well.. let me update on the current situ.

First of all I tested my cpu and ram sticks in my dad's pc.. they both work fine.. as I replaced them both and the comp ran just perfectly. Next I might try the psu. This is really a mystery because I take parts from my comp and put it in another comp they work.

I put it back in my, I don't even get video on the screen.. I don't get power to the video card nor the cpu. So you would think it's the mainboard right? I replaced the motherboard and the same situation occurs. I've tried everything and almost all possibilities. On my comp. I can't even get into bios since I don't even get power to the cpu and the video card.... I only get power to the HD's and CD drive since I can hear them running.
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.