Pc Dead Silent - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to ghensenyuy
Default Pc Dead Silent

I have a pentium II PC which is a Compaq. I got up this morning, turned on the machine and it gave no beep, It was dead silent and did not display on the screen.
what can be the cause of this please
__________________

ghensenyuy is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Dead motherboard, bad RAM, bad CPU, *AGE*
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 11:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
Dead motherboard, bad RAM, bad CPU, *AGE*
Age? I still have a 486DX2 that I like to play around on sometimes and it's still going strong.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 11:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

probably the power supply. Double check the power socekt its plugged into has power as well. Could be all of the above though. Are you willing to put some money into it?
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 11:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Age? I still have a 486DX2 that I like to play around on sometimes and it's still going strong.
And do you use this 486 regularly, like everyday? Probably not.

@ghensenyuy
I'd have to say check the power in your house or try another outlet. It would just seem wierd that all of a sudden on one morning it would stop working. It may be old, but if were to stop working from damaged overworked hardware, then it would just stop while being used, not fry itself overnight when it's not being used.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 11:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to ghensenyuy
Default

It is a new PC. Not a 486. I have changed the RAMS and the power supply but no way. Daapleby what do u mean by asking if i wanna spend money? If that will solve ma prob why not?
ghensenyuy is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 11:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Hmmmm...........powering on is a big issue......an initial power up may be all that is needed to kill the psu if it is "sick". Obvioulsy, unless you spilled a beer on the mobo the night before when it was powered down, "nothing is going to be damaged" but the initial power up is a big stress for a weakened system. If you have another psu laying around somewhere, swap it out and see what happens. If it has been a reliable puter and you don't mind spending a little time evaluating it, it's worth the effort. If you can afford to upgrade do it! Part it out and forget about it!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 12:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Sorry ghensenyuy. I was directing my "486" question at 003 in response to its sarcasm.

If you don't have a spare PSU, I remember there being a way of testing the functionality of the PSU without having it connected to the motherboard. It involves like removing and reconnecting one of the 20pin motherboard power wires to "fool" it into thinking a motherboard is connected. Sorry I can't provide more information on that, but search online and I'm sure you can find if th ePSU is your problem.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 04:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to ghensenyuy
Default problem persists

I have tried to change the power supply with a good one from another system i have. I still have the same problem. I have also changed the processor but no way.
Any other suggestions?
ghensenyuy is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 07:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

There is no reason that the motherboard should be dead.

If nothing is showing any signs of life and a new PSU doesn't work either, then I'm thinking it may be a power problem. Try plugging the PSU into another outlet. The outlet you are using now may very well be dead or something.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.