pc bottleneck? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2005, 12:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default pc bottleneck?

Hey experts.. need some help here... had some prob with my fren's seagate hdd.. was transferring some large dvd file to another hdd... a western digital one, then the whole com hung... later i couldn't boot up to windows... had a blue screen..

anyway, i formatted it and started to install xp home afresh... thank goodness i had data saved somewhere else... ok, here's the problem... the installation took very long... started in the morning and installed finish at 3 in the afternoon.. and when i was just using the com, without any additional apps, it was so slow.. took me close to an hour just to wait for the setup for avg and install it... wondering wat is wrong.. could anyone help me? sorry for being long winded...

the setup of the pc:
MSI MS-6728
P4 2.4
2 x 512 Cosair PC3200 (VS512MB400)
seagate ata v 60GB - data on a 30 GB partition and this was the one i installed xp home first then switched to western digital cos i thought the hdd was dying cos the installation was so slow...
western digital WD120 120GB - installed xp home but took damn long to install and took a using of the windows took very long for a 2.4Ghz processor...
Imation DVD-R 16x

Would really appreciate all u guys help.. thanx!

iamnuthin_84 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 01:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to Lintball

what kind of harddrive set up do you have ? do you have them in a raid configuration..? I would check for viruses/spyware

Lintball is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

i dont think that there would be any viruses/spyware as he formatted didnt he. i would try formatting again.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 01:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3

Thanx dudes for the help.. i took out the batt from the mobo and hus resetting everything.. the bios and all.. now it runs smoothly.. didn't think it was the hdd cos it was running really fine and i tested it out on other coms... anyway thanx for the help...
iamnuthin_84 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 10:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

but there can be viruses and spyware left on the hdd since reforamating doesnt put everything back to 0 or 1 it skips sectors so there for there could still be viruses and spyware just for your guyzes info thats prolly not the case here
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 12:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3

oh, then how do i actually get rid of such viruses?

iamnuthin_84 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.