pc base unit help! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2004, 05:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

well, when you put it that way, it seems like a good deal. i would still get at least a 5200 graphics cards in there, they are cheap and plentiful.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 05:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default

ok, i have no idea how to install a newer graphics card, but ill look into it, although i think this one would be fine for me, because my one at the moment is just a standard one i guess.

from edd
__________________

__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 05:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

the instructions that come with any card should be sufficient enough to help you install it on your own. it is fairly simple. you will need to power off the comp, of course, and open up the case itself. hook up the card, install the drivers and disable the old onboard drivers and you should be good to go. your games will look a lot better and play smoother, as will movies, pics, they will all display faster and better quality.

Edit: having a graphics card will also free up that shared memory and give it back to your programs.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 05:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default

ok, thanks...

dvd's and games should work alrite though should'nt they? they should work better than my 350mhz?

do you know any cheap cards that are good for around £50 or are they all more expensive than that?
__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 05:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

hmm pounds huh? what is that in USD? anyways, what games are you trying/wanting to play? i don't see any game working with onboard graphics, except maybe flash games from the internet. you will need a DVD drive to play DVDs and i doubt that computer will play DVDs, even with a drive, smoothly.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 05:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default

well...my 350mhz im using at the moment with 192 ram plays dvd's fine and i'll just replace the cd drive on the new pc with my current dvd/cdrw drive. So why wont it play smoothly if my 350mhz plays them fine?

and most older games work perfectly fine on my pc like "rollercoaster tycoon" and "the sims deluxe edition", because they work on 350mhz P2 which mine is
__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 05:35 PM   #17 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

if they worked on your old comp, they should work on your new one. on my old AMD and my old celeron machines, they always choked on videos and games, even when my AMD machine had a 5200 card. the DVDs will eat up all your memory, i assume you never watched a DVD at the same time while you were surfing the web or working on another program.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 05:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default

yer, i mainly just watch the dvd or play the game on its own, then surf the net after or before, not at the same time, but i play music at the same time and that's always been fine.

anyway, would the new pc be better than my old one with:

pentium2 350mhz processor
192mb RAM
ATI Technologies inc. 3D RAGE ||C AGP
running XP Proffesional SP1
__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 05:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

yeah, just keep the rage card and put it in your new pc. that's why you didn't have any problems watching dvds and playing games.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 05:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default

why?

wont the 64 shared mb SIS 651GX 3D Graphics card be better than the 3D RAGE ||C AGP i have, because i thought a brand new computer would have better graphiccs?

if i dont change the card over, what difference will it make?
__________________

__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.