Pc 2700 Ram mixed with 3200??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2004, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default Pc 2700 Ram mixed with 3200???

Hey Guys,
I'm sure this question has been asked before but I'll ask again anyway.
At the moment I have 256mb of pc2700 DDR Ram, I have a total of 3 memory slots in my motherboard, so therefore my long term plan is to have x2 256 and then a 512. The shop that I buy from is really really cheap and I get "special" discounts there but they only sell pc3200 ddr ram and above... So my question to you guys is can I mix my 256mb pc2700 ram with a stick on 256mb pc3200?? Will it still function properly? By the way just wondering what is a good amount of memory to have if you are playing a fair bit of games?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 12:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

All of your RAM will run at PC2700 speed. If you want the maximum speed, keep all of your ram at PC3200
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 02:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

just replace the 2700 with 3200 then when you get more money add some more 3200
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 03:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Ok so what you guys are saying is that if I buy a stick on 256ddr 3200 it will run at the same performance as my 256ddr at 2700??
Is there really much difference in performance between 2700 and 3200 ddr ram?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 06:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

yep
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 07:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

I agree with mrzeedler, just buy 3200 for now and then replace the slower RAM later.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 08:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default 2700 and 3200

your 3200 ram will drop to the minimal speed of 2700,

as was said all of your ram will run at 2700

in some cases pc2700 ram runs more stable on some
motherboards. for instance i used 3200 and it crashed or lagged sometimes and i dropped to pc2700 and the computer was
ok after that. different memory can help windows loads
aswell.

Richard
p4c800e3200 is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 11:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

True but the most effective way to reduce windows start time is to upgrade the hard drive.
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Really... Ok so cause I have 40gb HD at the moment, just say I buy a 80gb one, so all together I have 120. Will it load noticably faster? Or is it something like 3secs?
Thanks for your help guys on what im going to do fo rmy memory. I've decided that I'll follow mrzeeedler's idea of just upgrading to 3200 when i have enough cash.

** Please look at my post in the audio section, cause I need help with that ** Thanks,

-- Michael --
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 09:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

It is the rpm, seek time and ATA speed of the hard drive that significantly decreases Windows boot time.

120Gb Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9

Performance Specifications

Rotational Speed 7200 RPM with Quiet Drive Technology
Buffer Size 8MB
External Transfer Rate(MB/sec) ATA/133 133
Average Seek (ms) 9.3
Average Latency (ms) 4.2
Disk Drive Configuration
Bytes per Sector/Block 512
Logical CHS 16,383/16/63
Reliability Specifications
Start/Stop Cycles (min) >50,000
Component Design Line (min) 5 years
Data Errors (non-recoverable) <1 per 10E
15 bits read
Annualized Return Rate (ARR) <1%

Power Requirements
Mode 5V 12V
Seek (mA) 858 662
Idle (mA) 668 334
Standby (mA) 90 37

Temperature
Operating (¡ãC) 5 to 55
Non-operating (¡ãC) -40 to 71

Take note of the RPM speed, ATA bandwidth and latency.

Compared to:-

Manufacturer: Western Digital
Capacity (GB): 74GB
Rotation Speed (RPM): 10,000rpm
Cache (MB): 8MB
Access Time (ms): 4.5mb
Interface: Serial ATA 150

It is also possible to get 5,400 rpm, 2MB Cache, 12ms latency hard drives - these are usually the speed of high capacity hard drives or notebook hard drives.


I recently bought a 120GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 ATA133 hard drive for my second system, it is DEFINITELY noticeable how much faster it is.

To make a computer faster using 2 hard drives you set one hard drive up (the faster of the two) as the OS hard drive with all Anti-Virus/Firewall applications on it. Then use the second hard drive as PURELY storage, for games and other stuff.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.