PC on 24/7?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2004, 08:35 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to VICone Send a message via Yahoo to VICone
Default

I leave my laptop on 24/7, and my old computer I had for about 6 years I left on all the time. Still running strong.
__________________

__________________
MCSA, MCP (070-210, 070-218, 070-215), A+, Network+, Security+<br>
<a href=\"http://profiles.myspace.com/users/17229411\" target=\"_blank\">MySpace</a> | <a href=\"http://mcmcse.com\" target=\"_blank\">MCMCSE</a> | <a href=\"http://brainbench.com\" target=\"_blank\">Brainbench : Free Certifications</a>
VICone is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 07:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

I found on the net somewhere that it costs around $65 US per year in electricity to run a standard computer with a 17" CRT monitor for 24 hours 7 days a week for 365 days of the year. Which is what, $5 a month.
Without the monitor the cost was reduced to $40 US.

But as some of you said u leave more than one computer on then that eats into your electricity bill.
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 12:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

Cooling and as a lot of people pointed out, your electricity bill are the only issues.
__________________
Somewhere I Belong...
developer is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Only leave it on if neccesary.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120
Default

I leave mine running 24/7. My tech friend swears up and down that leaving your rig on all day will make your hard drives crap out much faster.
__________________
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
NEC 8x DVD+/-RW
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 01:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default

wats the point of leaving it on can i ask, unless ur downloading y not turn it off???
ardy89 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 02:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Cause some pcs take 15 minutes to start up. That's my guess.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 02:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I've got mine to start up in 14 sec. Its nicer to turn it off so the RAM can reset itself, and the pagefile emptied.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 02:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default

well u've got a problem wit ur pc if it takes 15mins to start up!!!!!
ardy89 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I always leave my computer running 24/7 and just restart it when necessary.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.