PC-133 running at 100Mhz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2005, 05:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Question PC-133 running at 100Mhz

I currently ran the CPU-Z detection program to look at some technical hardware specs. The SPD tab within the program shows all three sticks of RAM have a max frequency of 133 Mhz, but it says it is running at 100 Mhz.? This quote is from the manual:
Quote:
The AK12 mainboard has three 168-pin DIMM sockets that allow you to install from 16MB up to 1.5GB of system memory with PC 100/133 SDRAM (Synchronous DRAM) and VCM (Virtual Channel Memory) SDRAM. Each DIMM (Dual In-line Memory Module) socket can accommodate 16MB, 32MB, 64MB, 128MB, 256MB and 512MB 3.3V single or double side 64 bit wide data path SDRAM and VCM SDRAM modules.
my configuration looks like this: slot 1/256Mb pc-133, slot 2/128Mb pc-133, slot 3/128Mb pc-133
Quote:
Install memory in any or all of the banks and in any combination. Note: You do not need to set any jumper to configure memory since the BIOS utility can detect the system memory automatically. You can check the total system memory value in the BIOS Standard CMOS Setup menu.You can easily upgrade the system memory by inserting additional SDRAM and VCM SDRAM modules in available DIMM banks. The total system memory is calculated by simply adding up the memory in all DIMM banks. After upgrade, the new system memory value will automatically be computed and displayed by the BIOS Standard CMOS Setup menu.
I have it set in BIOS to run at 133 Mhz. When only one slot has RAM my system runs at 133 Mhz, when I run two sticks (in any combination) it won't even boot up, and when I run with all three (in any combination) it only runs at 100 Mhz. Any ideas why it will only run at 133 Mhz when only one stick of RAM is present?
__________________

icemakr is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 09:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

maybe those 2 sticks can't handle as tight latencies as the first one? have you tried messing around with the latencies? (cas=3 etc.)
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

When all 3 sticks (512) are in and I change the latency to 2 from 3, i'll save my bios settings and reboot, but the self test of ram only shows 256MB of RAM
icemakr is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Are all the sticks 133 or do you have 1 pc100 in there. If you do, the rest of the sticks will run at pc100. What kind of processor do you have? Set the FSB to 133 in the bios and that should fix the ram.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 04:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

The FSB is at max frequency of 100 Mhz. You know individualy though, they all run at 133 but together only 100, and the manual says: "Install memory in any or all of the banks and in any combination." My system ain't all that great, but I guess you get what you pay for and my friend gave it to me. So maybe i just need a new one.

This is the CPU-Z text report.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CPU-Z version 1.28.6.


CPU(s)
Number of CPUs 1

Name AMD Athlon
Code Name Thunderbird
Specification AMD Athlon(tm) processor
Family / Model / Stepping 6 4 2
Extended Family / Model 7 4
Package Socket A
Core Stepping A4
Technology 0.18 ยต
Supported Instructions Sets MMX, Extended MMX, 3DNow!, Extended 3DNow!
CPU Clock Speed 883.9 MHz
Clock multiplier x 8.5
Front Side Bus Frequency 104.0 MHz
Bus Speed 208.0 MHz
L1 Data Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L1 Instruction Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Cache 256 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Speed 883.9 MHz (Full)
L2 Location On Chip
L2 Data Prefetch Logic no
L2 Bus Width 64 bits



Mainboard and chipset
Motherboard manufacturer
Motherboard model 8363-686,
BIOS vendor Award Software International, Inc.
BIOS revision 6.00 PG
BIOS release date 06/21/2001
Chipset VIA KT133A rev. 3
Southbridge VIA VT82C686 rev. 40
Sensor chip VIA 686A/B

Graphic Interface AGP
AGP Status enabled, rev. 2.0
AGP Data Transfer Rate 4x
AGP Max Rate 4x
AGP Side Band Addressing supported, not enabled
AGP Aperture Size 64 MBytes



Memory
DRAM Type SDRAM
DRAM Size 512 MBytes
DRAM Frequency 104.0 MHz
FSBRAM 1:1
DRAM Interleave 4-way
CAS# Latency 3.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# 3 clocks
RAS# Precharge 3 clocks
Cycle Time (TRAS) 6 clocks
# of memory modules 3
Module 0 SDRAM PC133 - 256 MBytes
Module 1 SDRAM PC133 - 128 MBytes
Module 2 SDRAM PC133 - 128 MBytes



Software
Windows version Microsoft Windows XP Professional (Build 2600)
DirectX version 9.0c
icemakr is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 04:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Check to see if there is a more recent bios at the manufacturor's website.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 05:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

tried it, it's the most recent
__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 02:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

so it seems that either one of the 128 modules can't run at 133 speed, for some reason. try them both separately and if the other 128 ram really isn't capable of running at full speed, either ditch it or use all rams at 100mhz. also you could try this one problem stick in other mobo to ensure it's really the ram and not mobo, that causes the problem.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 03:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

I've booted up with all three sticks individually, and they all run at 133 when by themselves.
__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 05:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

now that's weird. i would guess it's the mobo, then. if you can, try all the sticks together in some other similar mobo and see if they work as they should.

you could try updating the via 4in1 driver package, but i doubt it would do any help.
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.