Pause every 10-20 seconds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2005, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default Pause every 10-20 seconds

Just built a new system here are the specs:

X2 3800+

geforce fx 6800GT

160 GB Seagate SATA

1.5 Gigs of ram (soon to be 2 gigs)

anyways, i did the burn in tests and ran 3dmark05 and it seems to be running fine, except when I am encoding video and playing a game every 10-20 seconds the game freezes for about 2-3 seconds, is this normal, or is it because i am running an encoding program? (have yet to try out without it running) anyways, i did isntall nvidia display and regular chipset drivers and the amd windows xp driver (did the x16 nvidia drivers btw) Thanks for all the help on tryign to figure out what this is., Josh

Sorry about making this post here, I was not sure if it is a hardware problem or software. Thanks.
__________________

JoshSB is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 01:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

which game are you trying to play?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Encoding is very CPU intensive, I don't think it matters if its dual core or not, Ive never known anyone to encode and try to play a game at the same time.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

mine works perfect as long as i affinity the encoding to one core that way the second core is open to play games, it just has a slightly noticeable blip every now and then, mainly America's Army, can run at full graphics and a bit of blip every now and then, for all I know it could be my internet lag catching up as well, need to buy a single player game like Doom or F.E.A.R. to try it out.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.Ē ~ Samuel Jackson

ďOmnis vir est fortunae faberĒ
JoshSB is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 12:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

seems to do it even when im not encoding, although its much less pronounce maybe just a blip on the screen (quarter of a second if that)
JoshSB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.