Parts to NOT buy - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2005, 03:30 AM   #81 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

So what would have been the problem, i don't have any voltage hogging stuff and when i used the first one i got an error at POST saying " CPU Unworkable or has been changed".

Could it just be an issue/conflict with the Abit NF7-S mobo's?

Drworm2005.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 03:40 AM   #82 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

could be..
it could also be that you just happened to get a bad one....
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 04:14 AM   #83 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

but i got two, the first one wouldn't let me boot at spec and the second one wouldn't let me boot at all not even to POST.

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 07:32 AM   #84 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

Back on the Maxtor issue, i had a WD & a maxtor in my rig, sure the WD was 12 months older but DIED! according to yous the Maxtor shouldve died bout 5 years b4 the WD, no gripes, no problems, just steer clear of Radeon 9200 watever, i know ppl that their monitor said "no Signal & the computer had to be restarted like 5 times to work! ATI=Buggy
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 01:06 AM   #85 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Wish you told me not to buy a KDS CRT monitor 3-4 months ago. Because i have one and its picture frucking rocks.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 01:20 AM   #86 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lostmanTech
Def dont buy emachines....."not a fan boy comment" i have two because my dad loves going to best buy and ignores my cries for a decent computer. They both just have parts that suck....aka bestec psu that doesn't support good graphics card.....aka anything over fx5700. my cdrom exploded....literally....i put a disc in all of a sudden a sound like a bomb was falling occurred and bam....smoke.....the cd was also in a million separate pieces. funny as hell now that i think of it.
CD's tend to do that when there ran at 48x speeds and higher after a few months. Happens to me all the time. I've got nearly $400 invested into Diablo 2 and Diablo 2 Lord of Destruction disc.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 03:25 PM   #87 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The_Tobes99
Back on the Maxtor issue, i had a WD & a maxtor in my rig, sure the WD was 12 months older but DIED! according to yous the Maxtor shouldve died bout 5 years b4 the WD, no gripes, no problems, just steer clear of Radeon 9200 watever, i know ppl that their monitor said "no Signal & the computer had to be restarted like 5 times to work! ATI=Buggy

Maxtor tend to live longer than WD.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 01:40 AM   #88 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

IMO Seagate makes the most reliable hard drives
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-03-2005, 02:09 PM   #89 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I like Maxtors, but there expensive where i live, plus my windows install goes corrupt after about 2 months.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 01:46 AM   #90 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Tboltness Send a message via Yahoo to Tboltness
Default

I saw on the first page to stay away from Lite-On DVD drives. I wouldn't agree with that at all. I've had one for 5 years. It originally came in a Micron PC I bought, been through 3 different systems, and still use it to this day. Trust me, some heavy DVD watching has been done on it too. Now don't get me wrong, I'm not RECOMMENDING Lite-On, I just don't discourage somebody buying one.
__________________

Tboltness is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.