partition a new drive - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2011, 04:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mrnotu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East TN USA
Posts: 152
Default Re: partition a new drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
It's also for stuff like switching from 3gbps to 1.5gbps
Isn't this drive rated for 6gbps? And how would I check to see my actual data transfer rate? The more the better? Thanks
__________________

__________________
CPU-6100 3.3 Ghz Black Edition, MB ASUS CrossHair V, GPU Galaxy GTX 560ti X2, G.Skill Sniper 1866 4x4GB, PSU SilverStone SST-ST1000-P, WD1002FAEX Caviar Black 1TB x2, Monitor ASUS 258VE LED BackLit, ASUS 12x BW-12B1ST Blu-Ray Writer, IWIN BUC case, SteelSeries MERC KeyBoard,NetGear DGND3700 N600 Wireless ADSL2+
mrnotu is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 08:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: partition a new drive

For standard HDDs, 6Gbps is redundant. At max transfer rates, you still won't even saturate 3Gbps. The only thing you need 6Gbps for is if you've got an SSD installed.
That said, the drive you got is *compatible* with the Sata3 standard. It just will never ever actually transfer that fast (due to limitations of mechanical drives).

On previous gen "normal" Sata2 drives, the 3-1.5 switch was definitely one of the features. Now that you mention it, I'm not sure if it'll still be the case with newer Sata3 drives. I'll do some research and post up.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-01-2011, 02:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mrnotu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East TN USA
Posts: 152
Default Re: partition a new drive

Interesting. Thanks
__________________

__________________
CPU-6100 3.3 Ghz Black Edition, MB ASUS CrossHair V, GPU Galaxy GTX 560ti X2, G.Skill Sniper 1866 4x4GB, PSU SilverStone SST-ST1000-P, WD1002FAEX Caviar Black 1TB x2, Monitor ASUS 258VE LED BackLit, ASUS 12x BW-12B1ST Blu-Ray Writer, IWIN BUC case, SteelSeries MERC KeyBoard,NetGear DGND3700 N600 Wireless ADSL2+
mrnotu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partition Hard Drive Help ? CStevens Microsoft Windows and Software 2 02-08-2009 01:30 PM
XP partition and OSX partition on 1 external drive? bzflag Apple and Mac 11 01-09-2007 10:08 PM
ADD C:/ PARTITION TO (primary) I:/ drive jamie7823 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-08-2006 10:56 AM
Partition a Drive mrlewp Microsoft Windows and Software 8 01-14-2004 05:18 AM
Drive Partition piggysmile Microsoft Windows and Software 3 10-02-2003 01:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.