partition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2005, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Question partition

why partition a hard disk?
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 11:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 476
Default

So you can format just a part of the disk, like the OS so you dont loose any files you want to keep (which are on the other part)
__________________

__________________
Hugo82 is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

to have multi OS running on your system is one reason
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 01:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

it can see it as two drives therefore you can use one part to back up files etc. And when a virus come it will only format one portion!!
Amd64Boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.