P4 Extreme Edition - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default P4 Extreme Edition

I was just reading in PC World and on the Intel website about the P4 Extreme Edition. It's 64bit and dual core. How come I have not heard alot about it? Am I out of the loop or does the processor suck?
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 05:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I assume you are refering to the XE 840, which is the only dual core XE out. There have been previous XE processors which you could probably compare to an AMD FX processor, the XEs originally featured bigger L3 caches of 2MB, but that is nothing special now.

I wouldn't say it sucks as it is a high end processor and I would kill have one handed to me for free, but compared to the Athlon X2 processors, it is quite a disappointment.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Here's a cnet article that should bring you up to speed:
http://www.cnet.com/4520-6022_1-5756419.html
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 05:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Cool. Thanks
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 07:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Intel will never SNIFF an AMD processor of any name, shape or kind when it comes to GAMING.

AMD just simply does it better. I've had P4 3.73 Extreme Edition and now i have the FX-55. There isn't a comparison in gaming benchmarks.

But, when it comes to Rendering or Video Editing... Intel's the way to go.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Intel Extreme Edition= Ripoff, crap.

AMD FX-55= HOLY HELL!!!!!!! WOOOT!!!!! YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!


Bottom Line: Intel should stop embarrasing their selves, with their weak *** processors.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

The only good thing i see Intel doing is large cache sizes. Because that will influence the market. But for an extra 1mb cache size, its like 400$ more. Its simply not worth it. Another thing, cache size does not always matter.

If Intel wanted some fast chips. They should start coming out with 1.6ghz FSB.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 09:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

So what about an AMD 64 3700+ VS. a P4 3.4? The P4 has the larger L2. Will the 64 blow it out of the water?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

fx 55 is the same as the amd 64 3200 (10x default multiplier) clawhammer except 12x default multiplier.. it's also multiplier unlocked.
(they come off the same wafer)

amd will always do better with video editing.. it's just that companies like avid wont support you if you're on a dual operton.

p4s usually run at 45c+ p4 3.2s benchmark @ 9-10000 mips
^ the new chipset (775 or whatever it is, the pinless ones) run at 50-60c easy

xeons usually run at 40c+ dual xeon 3.2s benchmark @ 17000mips
amd64s run at 25c+ amd 64 3200 benchmark @ 11000 mips
opterons run at 30c+ dual opteron 246s benchmark @ 22000mips

intel sucks.. at least for the moment.

worrying about the different cache sizes isnt important.. what is important are the benchmarks, they say it all.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 12:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to PinkFloyd
Default

the 3.73 ghz P4EE which is about 1 grand can be overclocked anywhere from 4.2 ghz and up depending on cooling.
__________________

PinkFloyd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.