P4 and AMD - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2004, 10:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Athlon XP 1600+

It's just a waste of money if i bought Pentium IV. I felt buying the brand instead of the performance.
__________________

herbert talabis is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:31 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 26
Default

P4 3.2ghz
__________________

Thrice is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 11:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

P4 2.6 ghz
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 01:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I want an Athlon 64 3400+
Not an FX-53
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 02:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Athlon XP 2600+
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 09:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

p4 2.8c
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 09:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

I have a P233 with MMX technology...oh yea w00t...MMX.. the last Pentium intel ever made...lol...anyway....If I had a choice to get a CPU I would get the AMD Athlon FX-53, and if I was actually gonna build something within my boundaries I would get a AMD Athlon XP 2800+. I'm a AMD person.
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

I'm running a Celeron in this machine - I have no problem with it. To be honest I think it'sa matter of personal preference as far as AMD and Intel goes, but I don't like the way AMD is doing this "We WISH our processors were this fast" thing.
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 01:40 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 26
Default

p4 3.0ghz ht
kaa312 is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 06:19 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FireFox
I have a P233 with MMX technology...oh yea w00t...MMX.. the last Pentium intel ever made...lol...anyway....If I had a choice to get a CPU I would get the AMD Athlon FX-53, and if I was actually gonna build something within my boundaries I would get a AMD Athlon XP 2800+. I'm a AMD person.
My new machine is going to be AMD Athlon too. (How does that sound from an Intel guy?) Actually I think both processors have their good points, but if you want a really really really high end machine, I would go for the Intel. I just don't see whats so special about the Athlon 64s but I'll read up on it.
__________________

__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.