P4 630 X Amd 64 3200+ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 07:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ciroalb
Do you guys really think AMD will beat out Intel now in the average stuff?
You'll never get a good strait answer from this place,99% of all people here are biased toward's AMD,If you ask about just upgrading a dam cd-rom you'll get fifty people screaming to uprade everything you have and get a huge AMD system
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

For what you want to do Intel sounds like the better option. I would with that. And even if you did want to game intel will do just fine. This intel I have get's crazy high fps and high benchmarks and multitasks like a beast too. And the one you are considering is even better than mine.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 10:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default

Is not that people are bias toward AMD, is just that AMD is better for gaming and single processing. Benchmarks have proven that. I will admit that there are certain areas where AMD cannot compete with an Intel. I have two computers. One is running with an Athlon 4000+ and the other running 2.8 Ghz. I tested both rigs by torturing them by running photoshop, burning DVD, winamp, using AIM, and playing a game at the same time. The Intel processor certainly alt tab faster and there was less delay than the athlon processor.

Most people choose athlon because it is significantly cheaper and most people nowaday plays computer games or just do some simple multi-tasks on their computer. You see the Athlon 3200+ is currently 199 in newegg and the Pentium 630 is 225. Price does make a difference, and Athlons are much easier to overclock from my own experience.
__________________
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lian-Li G70B
Core 2 Duo E6400@3.3ghz
2GB Mushkin Redline XP-8000
150GB Raptor
Hitachi 160GB Desktar
NEC 3520A
eVGA 7900GT Signature Series
Dell 2007FP WUXGA
Wall7486 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 01:11 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

I have a question about the P4 600 series.

They say that it supports 64 bit software, but is it also a 64 bit processor like an AMD 64? Or does it just support 64 bit software.

Sorry if it's a stupid question, someone asked me once & I was like waaaa?
macdawg is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Some peopl think that EMT which means emulated I forget the rest, means that it isn't really 64 bit, but it is just the same like amd.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Are you sure? Why is emulated then on the name?
ciroalb is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

AMD has Hyper Transport, Intel does not... so there...
And why would i care about the multitasking in Intel? Whoopee!! The most multi tasking an average person will do is listen to music and using Photoshop... AMD can handle that !!
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 09:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

By that same token intel will handle gaming just fine with the loss of a few fps.
The differences are minimal either way. I game on my intel and get fps between 40 and 90 while running a bunch of programs. On my AMD I get a few less fps because I overclocked it a little bit but it is still a little bit under my intel 3.4, and it does not multitask nearly as well and alt-tabbing out of game is much slower, etc.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 12:07 AM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
You'll never get a good strait answer from this place,99% of all people here are biased toward's AMD,If you ask about just upgrading a dam cd-rom you'll get fifty people screaming to uprade everything you have and get a huge AMD system
I'm am not bais. I have 2 of both computers. I thought intel was better at first, because that was what I was always told. but I figured out on my own that with the exception of video editong and clicking the mouse, AMD is superior in everything else
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 01:15 AM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

AMD gives you much better performance for the price, simply put. Plus I personally like the extended configurations the Athlon 64 offers over Intel based systems, but that's a small deciding factor for most.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.