P4 1.4ghz or Celeron 1.7Ghz? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2004, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 82
Default P4 1.4ghz or Celeron 1.7Ghz?

which one is better? on a 400FSB
__________________

Traicer is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

The p4, lol.
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 11:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 51
Default

P4 has 256or 512K L2 ATC cache
Celeron has 128 or 256 ATC L2 cache
loner is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 11:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to somedudex Send a message via Yahoo to somedudex
Default

yep! the p4
somedudex is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 02:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Roo
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 339
Send a message via AIM to Roo Send a message via Yahoo to Roo
Default

Look at sig
Roo is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 03:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

i think
Athlon 64 > P4 > Athlon XP > celeron
and
ATI > NVidia

Athlon 64 3400 and FX outperforms P4 extreme, and 3400 is half the price, but the FX is still too much $; I used to like P4's better before they made Athlon 64's
but I would definately go with P4 over Celeron
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 03:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

P4 definitely.
__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 03:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

it goes like this


Athelon 64 > P4 TIED with Amd Athelon Xp's > Celeron TIED WITH Duron
Trax is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 05:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
Athlon 64 > P4 > Athlon XP > celeron
[/B]
My thoughts exactly
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.