P LED+ P LED- not plugged in - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2004, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default P LED+ P LED- not plugged in

Hi
i have not plugged in my P LED+ and P LED- wires from my case, i think these need to go to MSG plug on my motherboard.
is that right?

there is no polarity defined i=on my motherboard just a number 1 position.

how should i plug these wires in?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 06:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

look at your motherboard manual. it will show you where the control panel header is located. it will show you where the power positive and negetive go. i beleive positive is always facing the lefthand side. if you can't figure it out give me your motherboard model and i will show you.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 05:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

my motherboard model number is Gigabyte GA 81875 ultra
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

since motherboard manufacturer's and case makers always seem to use different labels for the same thing i am assuming your wires from the case "P LED+ and P LED-" are for the power light indicator on the case which idicates if your computer is turned on. usually it is a green LED light.

look at the front of the case do you see an icon that looks like a lit-up lightbulb with rays of light coming from it? if the LED for that is not lit up than that is what the P is for. 1 means that is where pin one is, on the lefthand side which is the side where the memory banks are. . if thats it here is how to connect it:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture 002.jpg (44.3 KB, 974 views)
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for digging up the information
but i only have 2 wires, according to the figre, (i also pulled up the data sheet from the gigabyte website), there is one MPD+, and 2 MPD- wires.
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 07:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yes you only use 2 of the three pins probably pins 1+2. just plug it in man, you won't damage anything because it is simply a LED diode. if you plug it in wrong the worsse it can do is not light up the LED.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 07:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

Thanks ek
i plugged it in and i have a nice green light now
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.