Overseas hardware compatibily - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2006, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default Overseas hardware compatibily

I live in England and take a trip to America every year in summer for 2-3 months to visit my girlfriend who currently lives over there. I am thinking about purchasing some computer parts (not the case or psu) while I am over there as it would save me alot of money.

I am currently trying to find out if there would be any compatibility issues between US and UK hardware. I am pretty sure they all use the same standards and everything is interchangable as they are identical components but I want to make sure before I go buying anything.

If anyone knows or could give me some insight into this it would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
__________________

Cagen is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

As far as I know, the ONLY parts that would make any kind of difference would be keyboard (for foreign languages) and the Power Supply...
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 11:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The PSU will either auto detect the voltage in a different country or will have a switch to change between them, but as you live in the UK may I reccomend the Hiper Type R 580w?

Also check the prices of each individual component as there may be a couple of components where it could be cheaper to buy in the UK.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 04:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Wise choice, you'll get stuff ALOT cheaper in the US (no VAT and all).

and like the others say, shouldn't be any hardware incompatibilities that I know of.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.