Overheating PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2004, 07:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default Overheating PC

Ok ok finally iv remembered/been bothered to actually start worrying about this problem i got here with my pc.

For some reason my pc can get up to 61 degree's celcius and not shut down or overheat and apparently Intel Processors can only hit 60 and lose it

iv attached a screenshot of a program i used to monitor heat etc on my Asus motherboard,Intel P4 3.20GHz CPU & overall system heat.

My overall system temp and etc is always perfection its just the cpu temp thats doing really weird things!

i idle at 49c and when playing a game on the pc i hit 59c+

so iv got some questions..
#1: What temperature do u estimate before it will just say no.
#2: is there a way to cool it down without buying any new parts!
#3: is this normal for my motherboard/cpu to be getting this hot?
#4: will my asus P4P800SE Ai Series motherboard shut down automatically before my pc blows up ?

any other basic input to this topic would help. and if you have any questions on my hardware or anything. just ask..

Thanks in advance
__________________

ChevMiester003 is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 07:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default

and by the way. nothing is overclocked
__________________

ChevMiester003 is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 08:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

#1: Dunno, depends on the time. Maybe 80C?
#2: Place it in a cold room or open the case and place a fan next to your computer.
#3: check this: http://homepage.ntlworld.com/peter.e...istory_big.gif
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default

yes i have that. but i dont know what i should be setting the max for my cpu heat to?
ChevMiester003 is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 06:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default

what is your max set to?
ChevMiester003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.