Overheating! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2004, 04:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Pagdwa
Default Overheating!

Holy Cow... I just bought a new system and my CPU is running at 80C IDLE!

My set up is the Prescot 530 775... here is a link CPU
It is running with a stock heat sink/fan and 1 80mm fan. It is a 400watt "Powermax" PSU.

The board is a Gigabyte GA-8IPE775-G.

During installation the thermal pad got damaged, so I removed it and used thermal paste.

Like I said idle I am running 60-80C, and if I boot up a game it hits near 90C.

Should I buy a new heatsink? I found this one new heat sink

Thanks in advance..
Ryan
__________________

Pagdwa is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 04:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

****! is the fan plugged in?
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 04:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Pagdwa
Default

Yes, both of the fans are plugged in and I have an expansion bay fan. So to clarify that makes the CPU fan, the Dual Expansion bay fan, and the 80mm fan mounted on the back of the computer.

Now I mean I boot up this machine, go to bios, walk away for 5 min come back and BAM it was at 75C.. I go to windows, load up this software that checks the temp, 80C.

God, I don't want to go through the hassle of returning this....

EDIT: I ust read that somthing about putting to much thermal paste on... could this be a problem? I figured.. hey the more the merrier....
Pagdwa is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 05:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I figured.. hey the more the merrier....
you figured incorrectly....if you have a good finish on the heatsink then an almost transparent layer of compound is needed...a little bit thicker if the heatsink has a crappy finish, but by a little bit they mean a LITTLE bit. You're supposed to take a little drop on the corner of the CPU core and spread it evenly over the core....when the heatsink smashes down ontop of it it'll squish it all out over the edges if you put on too much which is probably what you did. Reseat your heatsink and make sure you put on a thin layer of compound. If you're heatsink had a thermal pad on it then you should HAVE NOT have put thermal compound on it.....a lot of stock heatsinks come with thermal pads not the grease....so if you've taken off the heatsink and put the thermal paste on your CPU Core you screwed up....you don't add grease to the pad. That's an insanely high temp for an intel especially.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 06:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default

If your CPU was running at 90, Especially with Intel it would of been fried. Since its a new system, I might think it could be your BIOS reading it wrong. Did you flash to the latest BIOS?
-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 11:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Pagdwa
Default

The pad got messed up when I was putting the ehat sink on, the instructinos excplicitly said to make sure this didn't happen, so I just removed the pad and picked up radio shacks heat compound.
Pagdwa is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 11:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by -AnGuiSh-
If your CPU was running at 90, Especially with Intel it would of been fried. Since its a new system, I might think it could be your BIOS reading it wrong. Did you flash to the latest BIOS?
I am with Anguish. Sounds like it might be an error in the Bios reading your temps. 90 deg. C is ridiculously high. Dont Intels come with a certain safety thing to shut off the CPU if it reaches too high of a temp?
__________________
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
NEC 8x DVD+/-RW
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 11:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to DaShizNit609 Send a message via Yahoo to DaShizNit609
Default

you should flash the bios it might jst be reading the temp wrong.
DaShizNit609 is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 03:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

90C. That would, like, melt your CPU to your mobo. lol. There has to be something wrong with how the temps are being read.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-21-2004, 03:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to Pagdwa
Default

Looks like this new LGA775 socket stuff is made to ONLY run with thermal pads said Carlos from Intel. So they are overnighting somenew pads for me.

I asked Carlos about CPUs melting to motherboards and he said that it would need to reach temps MUCH higher than that. I mean its metal people come on.
__________________

Pagdwa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.