Overclocking with the Venice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2005, 07:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default Overclocking with the Venice

So i probably should've asked this stuff before when i mentioned id found a place that sells this, but i didnt think of it, so i apolagize for the multiple threads.

How much more will i be able to overclock the Venice Core compared to the retail 3200?

Also is it really worth the extra $70 just so i can overclock more?
And what are your personal opinions about the Venice core vs Retail version

thankyou.
__________________

Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 10:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

I'm assuming that both processors are a 3200+.

if that is the case, then my opinion would be that your ability to overclock one processor over the other would depend on the individual chip you recieve. You might get a good Venice core and be able to overclock the hell out of it or you could get a so-so Venice core and only get a marginal overclock. The same criteria would apply to the retail 3200+. As always, the only sure thing is that the processor will run at stock speeds.

It is my opinion that the Venice core would be the better route to go and is worth the extra $. I found this article here and they had a lot of good things to say about the Venice core.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 10:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

thanx for your help, and yes they are both the 3200. but i dont know what you mean buy get a good or so-so one, wouldnt the quality of these products be standard?
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 10:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

dude it doesnt cost $75 more it only cost sumthing like $20 if that
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 10:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

nah, it does. Im from Australia + i can only find it at one site so they are probably ripping people off.
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 10:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

ahhh i c life sucks for you
lol if its that much more stick with a winnie
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 10:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

yeh i was thinking but like i thought screw it, i got nothin better to spend it on
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 10:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

When i said a good one or a so-so one i meant this:

I bought two AMD 2500+ processors, same day, same order, same place. one for my computer and one for my mom's computer. I tried both of them in the same set-up and this is what i found:

One of them would overclock to 3200+ speeds without any problems. 48 degrees C under full load (prime 95).

The other couldn't go to 3200+ speeds without overheating. It would get to 58 degrees C at 3000+ speeds. I played around with it to see if it was the installation or the chip.

after a lot of testing, i came to the conclusion that the one chip was just better than the other. I kept the good one and installed the other in my mom's computer.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 01:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Erm, OK, something just to go over first.

You can't compare a Venice Core to a "retail version", any CPU core, including the Venice, is packaged as either retail or OEM. The core refers to the actual architechture of the chip, not how it's packaged.

Now, I'm assuming the retail version you are talking about is the Winchester core. The Venice core will overclock exceptionally better than the Winchester core, it has a better memory controller added to it so you can hit higher speeds with less voltage than the old Winchester. For example, a 3200+ can hit 3GHz with the right knowhow on air with a Venice core, Winchesters most likely won't do that.

Quote:
The other couldn't go to 3200+ speeds without overheating. It would get to 58 degrees C at 3000+ speeds. I played around with it to see if it was the installation or the chip.
This is because companies like AMD and Intel make one chip so to speak, and test the chip to see what speeds it can run at. If a chip can't make the voltage and clock speed of say a 3500+, but can for a 3200+, they'll label it a 3200+. That being said, a core might be able to run at 3500+ speeds, but may miss the vcore requirements by like 0.1, they'll label it a 3200+ when infact it can run a lot faster than what the stock speeds are.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 02:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

So wait someone can get lucky and get a 4000+ in like a 3500+ that is how I understood it? so if they manufactured it for a 4000+ but doesn't meet that then they pakage it for a 3500 + also would you still be able to overclock it like a 4000+ or would it overclock like a 3500+, Gaara?
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.